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California 
Minimum Wage 

MW-2001 
Minimum Wage - Every employer shall pay to each employee wages not less than the following: 

$6.25
per hour beginning January 1, 2001 

 $6.75
per hour beginning January 1, 2002 

To employers and representatives of persons working in industries and occupations in the State of California: 

SUMMARY OF ACTIONS 
TAKE NOTICE that on October 23, 2000, the Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC), having proceeded according to its authority in the Labor 
Code and Constitution of California, Article 14, § 1, amended Sections 1, 2, 3, and 5 of the General Minimum Wage Order, MW-98. Section 
4, Separability, has not been changed. The IWC adopted increases to the minimum wage and to meals and lodging credits in this general 
minimum wage order and in all of the IWC’s industry and occupation orders. The IWC also repealed and/or amended the following non-
statutory full and partial exemptions from the minimum wage for certain employees that are contained in this order as well as in its industry 
and occupation orders: student nurses, professional actors, full-time carnival ride operators, employees of the State or local governments 
and any political subdivision thereof, personal attendants in private homes except for persons under the age of eighteen who are employed 
as baby sitters for a minor child of the employer in the employer’s home, and minors paid not less than 85% of the minimum wage rounded 
to the nearest nickel. The present partial exemption for learners was amended to include minors. The IWC took these actions after holding 
investigative public hearings as required by Labor Code § 1178, considering the report of the Wage Board on the minimum wage selected 
pursuant to Labor Code § 1178.5, and subsequently holding public hearings according to the requirements of Labor Code § 1181. 

This summary must be made available to employees in accordance with the IWC’s wage orders. Copies of the full text of the amended 
wage orders may be obtained at www.dir.ca.gov/IWC or by mail from the IWC. 

1. APPLICABILITY 
The provisions of this Order shall not apply to outside salespersons and individuals who are the parent, spouse, or children of the employer 
previously contained in this Order and the IWC’s industry and occupation orders. The IWC has eliminated other exemptions from the 
minimum wage previously contained in this Order and in sections of the IWC’s industry and occupation orders. (See Section 5, Amended 
Provisions, below.) Exceptions and modifications provided by statute or in Section 1, Applicability, and in other sections of the IWC’s 
industry and occupation orders may be used where any such provisions are enforceable and applicable to the employer. 

2. MINIMUM WAGES 
Every employer shall pay to each employee wages not less than six dollars and twenty-five cents ($6.25) per hour for all hours worked, 
effective January 1, 2001, and not less than six dollars and seventy-five cents ($6.75) per hour for all hours worked, effective January 1, 
2002. 

3. MEALS AND LODGING 
Meals or lodging may not be credited against the minimum wage without a voluntary written agreement between the employer and the 
employee. When credit for meals or lodging is used to meet part of the employer’s minimum wage obligation, the amounts so credited 
may not be more than the following: 

Effective 
January 1, 2001 

Effective 
January 1, 2002 

LODGING 
Room occupied alone ......................................................................................................... $29.40 per week $31.75 per week 
Room shared ....................................................................................................................... $24.25 per week $26.20 per week 
Apartment – two-thirds (2/3) of the ordinary rental value, and in no event more than: ... 

 ........................................................................... 

.............................................................................................................................. 

$352.95 per month $381.20 per month 
Where a couple are both employed by the employer, two-thirds (2/3) of the ordinary 
rental value, and in no event more than: $522.10 per month $563.90 per month 

MEALS 
Breakfast $2.25 $2.45 
Lunch ................................................................................................................................... 

 .................................................................................................................................. 
$3.10 $3.35 

Dinner $4.15 $4.50 

4. SEPARABILITY 
If the application of any provision of this Order, or any section, subsection, subdivision, sentence, clause, phrase, word or portion of this 
Order should be held invalid, unconstitutional, unauthorized, or prohibited by statute, the remaining provisions thereof shall not be affected 
thereby, but shall continue to be given full force and effect as if the part so held invalid or unconstitutional had not been included herein. 

5. AMENDED PROVISIONS 
This Order amends the minimum wage and meals and lodging credits in MW-98, as well as in the IWC’s industry and occupation orders. 
(See Orders 1-15, Secs. 4 and 10; and Order 16, Secs. 4 and 9.) This Order also amends the following other provisions of the IWC’s industry 
and occupations orders to be consistent with the IWC’s actions regarding the elimination of certain exemptions from the minimum wage: 
Order 1, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 2, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 3, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 4, Secs. 1(B) 
and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 5, Secs. 1(A) and (C), and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 6, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 7, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) 
and (2); Order 8, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 9, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 10, Secs. 1(B) and (D), and 4(A)(1) and (2); 
Order 11, Secs. 1(B) and (C) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 12, Secs. 1(B) and (C) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 13, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); 
Order 14, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); Order 15, Secs. 1(B) and 4(A)(1) and (2); and, Order 16, Sec. 1(B). These amendments were 
adopted on October 23, 2000, in Sacramento. 

These Amendments to the Wage Orders shall be in effect as of January 1, 2001. 

Questions about enforcement should be directed to the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement. Consult the white pages of your telephone directory under 
CALIFORNIA, State of, Industrial Relations for the address and telephone number of the office nearest you. The Division has offices in the following cities: 
Bakersfield, Eureka, Fresno, Long Beach, Los Angeles, Oakland, Redding, Sacramento, Salinas, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, 
Santa Ana, Santa Barbara, Santa Rosa, Stockton, and Van Nuys. 

http://www.dir.ca.gov/iwc
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