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UPDATED FINDING OF EMERGENCY 
OF THE 

DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 
DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

 
REGARDING THE CALIFORNIA LABOR CODE 

TITLE 8, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS 
DIVISION 1. DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 
CHAPTER 4.5 DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

SUBCHAPTER 1.8.5 ELECTRONIC DOCUMENT FILING RULES 
 

Government Code Section 11346.1 requires a finding of emergency to include a written 
statement with the information required by paragraphs (2), (3), (4), (5) and (6) of 
subsection (a) of Section 11346.5 and a description of the specific facts showing the 
need for immediate action. 

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 52(c), the Division of 
Workers’ Compensation (DWC) is incorporating by reference the rulemaking file, OAL 
File No. 2012-1219-01E, filed with the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) on December 
19, 2012, for the initial adoption of the emergency regulations.  Pursuant to California 
Code of Regulations, title 1, section 52(b)(2) there have been no changes in emergency 
circumstances since the original adoption of the emergency regulations. 

The Acting Administrative director of the DWC finds that the adoption of these 
regulations is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and 
safety, or general welfare, as follows: 

FINDING OF EMERGENCY 

Basis for the Finding of Emergency 

• On September 18, 2012, the Governor signed Senate Bill (SB) 863 (Chapter 
363) which takes effect on January 1, 2013.   

• SB 863 has created substantial changes to how liens are filed within the workers’ 
compensation.  Specifically, any liens filed pursuant to Labor Code section 
4903(b) or claims of costs must be filed electronically.   

• Also, a fee of $150 will now be required prior to filing for most liens filed after Jan. 
1, 2013, and a $100 activation fee will be required for most liens filed before 
then, but activated for a lien conference after Jan. 1, 2013.  This activation fee 
will be required to be paid at the time a lien claimant files a declaration of 
readiness or appears at a lien conference.  
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• There are also provisions for dismissal of liens by operation of law after Jan. 1, 
2014 if no activation fee has been filed, as well as an 18-month statute of 
limitations for filing liens for services rendered after July 1, 2013 and a 3-year 
statute of limitations for services provided before then. 

• Action is necessary in order to implement, on an emergency basis, the provisions 
of Labor Code sections 4903, 4903.05, 4903.06, and 4903.07.  The regulations 
are mandated by Labor Code section 4903.05(c)(5), which provides “The 
administrative director shall adopt reasonable rules and regulations governing 
the procedure for the collection of the filing fee, including emergency regulations 
as necessary to implement this section,” and Labor Code section 4903.06 (a)(3) 
which provides “The administrative director shall adopt reasonable rules and 
regulations governing the procedure for the collection of the lien activation fee 
and to implement this section, including emergency regulations, as necessary.” 

• Because the statute requires the electronic lien filing payment be made for liens 
filed on or after Jan.1, 2013, there is insufficient time to go through the regular 
rulemaking process.   

• Without the implementation of emergency regulations, as of January 1, 2013, 
medical providers, interpreters, and other providers will refuse to treat or provide 
services to injured workers because they will have no way to ensure recovery for 
their fees causing harm to the public peace, health and safety, and general 
welfare.   

Updated Basis for the Finding of Emergency 

• On January 1, 2013, the emergency regulations were originally adopted. 

• On February 8, 2013, the Notice of Proposed Action for the above-described 
regulations was published in the California Regulatory Notice Register.  DWC 
correspondingly posted all required rulemaking materials on its website and 
mailed the notice to the DWC interested parties list.  

• On March 26, 2013, DWC conducted an open, regulatory hearing on the 
proposed electronic document filing and lien filing fee regulations.  

• Following the public hearing, DWC staff has been diligently reviewing extensive 
comments submitted during the 45-day public comment period, has been 
working with various stakeholders regarding issues related to on the electronic 
lien filing fees, and has considered potential substantive changes that will likely 
be incorporated during the regular rulemaking process.  
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• Additionally, on April 16, 2013, the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board 
(WCAB) issued notice of its public hearing to amend its regulations in light of SB 
863, including definitions and procedures concerning liens and lien filing fee 
requirements.  Because it is necessary that the terms and procedures regarding 
liens in the DWC regulations are consistent with the regulations promulgated by 
the WCAB, DWC and the WCAB need to coordinate the two agencies’ 
rulemakings.   

• As illustrated by the chart below, liens filed with filing fees and activation fees 
have increased every month since the requirements became effective on 
January 1,2013, giving DWC a unique opportunity to determine how the 
regulations implementing the requirement can be modified and improved.  

Month 
New 
Liens Activations 

January 723 8,254 

February 1,428 10,626 

March 3,632 22,003 

April 6,173 23,134 

 

• In order to collect the filing fees, DWC was required to develop a web-based 
payment process with a vendor that accepts the electronic payments.  DWC has:  

• Created unique lien numbers for existing and new liens  

• Created online lien search and activation functions, integrated with the 
payment process 

• Integrated payment process into existing Eform filing process 

• Integrated payment process into existing Jet bulk filing process 

• Added new fields and validations to Lien and Declaration of Readiness forms 
to indicate fee exemption 

• Enabled email receipts 

• A readoption of the emergency regulations will provide the additional time 
necessary for DWC to complete the regular rulemaking process and Certificate of 
Completion.   
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• The emergency regulations will provide the procedure for filing liens and 
filing/activation fees electronically which will allow medical providers and others 
who provide services to injured workers to recover payment for their services, 
thus ensuring that injured workers will continue to have access to medical care 
and other services such as interpreters on and after January 1, 2013.   

Background 

• The DWC develops regulations to implement, interpret, and make specific the 
California Labor Code.  

• SB 863 was signed into law by Governor Brown on September 18, 2012 to 
become effective January 1, 2013.  

• On October 2, 2012, the DWC held a working group meeting open to the public 
to obtain input from the stakeholders. 

• Draft regulations were posted on the DWC public forum from December 3 
through December 7, 2012, to allow for informal public comment. 

• A 2011 report prepared by the Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ 
Compensation (CHSWC) indicates approximately 350,000 liens were filed in 
2010 and over 450,000 were expected in 2011. Medical treatment liens account 
for more than 60% of the liens filed and 80% of the dollars in dispute.  

• A single lien filing ordinarily includes all the claims by one lien claimant in one 
injured worker’s case. For a medical lien, that means one medical provider files 
one Notice and Request for Allowance of Lien covering all of the billing disputes 
connected with the treatment of one worker arising out of one injury or several 
injuries. 

• The typical workers’ compensation lien is a direct claim against the defendant for 
a benefit which is not otherwise payable to the injured worker. The rationale is 
that the lien claimant has furnished medical treatment or other service that the 
employer was required to provide, so the lien claimant is entitled to payment from 
the employer.  A medical provider must accept the payment allowed by workers’ 
compensation and must not collect from the patient unless the claim turns out to 
be non‐compensable.  A lien is the medical provider’s vehicle for contesting the 
employer’s determination of the amount payable for medical goods or services. 
Unlike conventional liens, these are not obligations of the injured worker. 

• The predominant type of liens in workers’ compensation proceedings are liens for 
medical treatment.  Other types of liens include medical-legal expenses, 
interpreters, copy services, and attorneys’ fees. 
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• An injured worker may need to obtain medical treatment “on lien” when an 
employer fails or refuses to furnish treatment. Medical providers treating on lien 
may not get paid until the employer’s liability is admitted or adjudicated, and then 
they take the risk that an employer may not be found liable and their bills are 
uncollectible. 

• Since SB 863 was enacted in September, DWC has been developing a web-
based payment process with a vendor that will accept the electronic payment for 
liens prior to allowing the lien to be electronically filed. 

• The statute also mandates that the liens themselves be file electronically.  
Therefore it is also necessary that the formerly voluntary electronic filing methods 
be adopted as emergency regulations. 

• Without these emergency regulations, there will be no regulations to implement 
the requirement to file lines electronically to pay the lien filing fees.  If medical 
providers and other providers such as interpreters are unable to electronically 
pay and file their liens on or after January 1, 2013, it is likely that they will refuse 
to treat injured workers until they have a means to file their liens.  Otherwise, 
they will not have a remedy to collect their fees. 

• Therefore, employees who are injured after January 1, 2013 will be denied 
medical care and other services that are necessary to obtain medical treatment 
for workers’ compensation injuries if these emergency regulations are not in 
effect by January 1, 2103.  Additionally, medical and other providers who treat 
injured workers would not be able to protect their rights to be reimbursed for their 
services and may lose their rights to ever collect what they are legally entitled to 
recover.    

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 

The Acting Administrative Director of the Division of Workers’ Compensation, pursuant 
to the authority vested in her by Labor Code sections 111, 133, 138.2(b), 4903.05, 
4903.06 and 5307.3 proposes to add Subchapter 1.8.5. (Articles 1 – 5) of Chapter 4.5, 
of Title 8 California Code of Regulations, amend section 10205, and 10205.12, and 
adopt sections 10206, 10206.1, 10206.2, 10206.3, 10206.4, 10206.5, 10206.14, 
10206.15, 10207, and 10208.  

INFORMATIVE DIGEST 

Summary of Existing Laws  

Labor Code section 4903 et seq. of the Labor Code authorizes the Workers’ 
Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB) to determine and allow specified expenses as 
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liens against any sum to be paid as compensation.  Labor Code section 138.2(b) 
authorizes the administrative director to provide the necessary infrastructure, which 
includes the Electronic Adjudication Management System (EAMS), for the district offices 
of the WCAB. In fiscal year 2004 to 2005, the Senate Bill 1113 (SB 1113, Stats. 2004, 
Ch. 208) authorized funds for the Electronic Adjudication Management System (EAMS). 
EAMS is a computer based system that improved the DWC case management process 
by creating an electronic filing system for the trial level workers’ compensation courts.  
EAMS replaced the paper file system with electronic-based workers’ compensation 
court technology and supporting infrastructure.    

SB 863 added sections 4903.05 and 4903.06.  Section 4903.05 describes the filing 
requirements for a lien, which previously contained in former Labor Code section 
4903.1.   A lien claimant must still file a lien with the WCAB in the form approved by the 
WCAB.  Section 4903.05(b) requires that liens for medical treatment (under Labor Code 
section 4903(b)) must be filed electronically using the form approved by the WCAB.  
Lien claims that are exempted from this obligation include liens for burial expenses, 
child support and living expenses.  Labor Code section 4903.05(b) also includes liens 
for claim for costs. 

Labor Code section 4903.05(c) adds a filing fee for liens filed on or after Jan. 1, 2013.  
The fee applies to liens under Labor Code section 4903(b), which relates to medical 
treatment or medical legal expense, or for claims for costs.  If a lien is not properly 
submitted with proof that the filing fee has been paid, it will be deemed invalid and will 
not preserve or extend the time limit for filing the lien. 

A lien claimant is required to pay a $150 filing fee to DWC before filing a lien.  The 
claimant must include proof that the filing fee is paid.  The fee will be collected through 
an electronic payment system that accepts major credit cards and other forms of 
electronic payment selected by the administrative director.  The administrative director 
is authorized to contract with a service provider for the processing of electronic 
payments, but a processing fee must not be absorbed by DWC and must not add to the 
fee charged to the lien claimant.  The filing fee must be deposited into the Workers’ 
Compensation Administrative Revolving Fund.  The administrative director must adopt 
reasonable rules and regulations regarding the procedure for the collection of the fees. 

Certain providers are explicitly excluded from payment of the filing fee.  They are: (1) a 
health-care service plan licensed per Health and Safety Code section 1349; (2) a group 
disability insurer under a policy issued in California per Insurance Code section 
10270.5; (3) a self-insured employee welfare benefit plan issued in California as defined 
by Insurance Code section 10212; (4) a Taft-Hartley health and welfare fund; and (5) a 
publicly funded program providing medical benefits on a nonindustrial basis. 
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Labor Code section 4903.06 implements a new activation fee for liens filed before Jan. 
1, 2013.  The activation fee applies to medical treatment and medical-legal liens under 
Labor Code 4903(b) and liens for costs.  A lien claimant may avoid paying an activation 
fee only if it provides proof of having paid a filing fee as required by former Labor Code 
section 4903.05.  Otherwise, a lien claimant must file a lien activation fee of $100 to the 
DWC on or before Jan. 1, 2014.  The activation fee is to be collected electronically.  A 
lien claimant must include a proof of payment of the filing fee or activation fee when it 
files a declaration of readiness to proceed.   

All lien claimants that did not file the declaration of readiness and that remain a lien 
claimant at the time of the lien conference must submit proof of payment of the 
activation fee at the conference.  If the fee has not been paid or no proof of payment is 
made, the lien shall be dismissed with prejudice.  Liens filed before Jan. 1. 2013, for 
which a filing fee or activation fee has not been paid by Jan. 1. 2014, will be dismissed 
by operation of law.  The same lien claimants who are exempted from the $150 filing fee 
are exempt from the activation fee. 

TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, OR EMPIRICAL STUDIES, REPORTS, OR 
DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON 

• WCIRB Evaluation of the Cost Impact of Senate Bill 863 updated October 12, 
2012. 

• The California Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ Compensation 
Liens Report dated January 5, 2011. 

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS  

The Administrative Director adopts and amends administrative regulations governing 
vouchers.  These regulations implement, interpret, and make specific Labor Code 
sections 4903.05 and 4903.06 as follows: 

1. Section 10205. Definitions  

• This amended section adds definitions for “cost,” “electronic filing,” “initial lien,” 
“section 4903(b) lien,” and amends the definitions for [to] ‘file” and “party.”   

• The definitions are added to ensure that the terms meaning, as used in the 
regulations, will be clear to the regulated public.   

2. Section 10205.12 Form and Size Requirements for Filed Documents 

• The cross reference in subdivision (b)(4) to the definition of “product deliver units” 
is corrected to reflect the new lettering (section 10205(dd)). 
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3. Section 10206. Electronic Document Filing; Electronic Adjudication 
Management System (EAMS) Reference Guide and Instructional Manual for 
E-Form Filers; Incorporation. 

• This section provides that electronic documents (E-forms) shall be filed upon a 
form approved by the appeals board and shall follow the procedures set forth in 
the Electronic Adjudication Management System (EAMS) Reference Guide and 
Instructional Manual for E-Form Filers (EAMS E-Form Filing Reference Guide), 
dated January 1, 2013.  The guide is incorporated by reference. 

• The EAMS Reference Guide provides that filing electronically requires a login 
consisting of a user name and password.  Upon completion of the required 
training, new participants to the e-form filing will receive a login which allows 
them electronic access to EAMS.  E-forms are electronic forms that are filled out 
on the user’s computer and filed over the Internet into EAMS.  The guide 
provides the user with a key word and key phrase searchable resource to help 
the user achieve as error free and efficient e-filing as possible.  The topics 
include general guidelines, filing procedure, general topics (an alphabetical list of 
topics such as attachments, body part codes, change of address, document 
titles, medical records, proof of service, and trial exhibits), selected structured 
form specifics (how to file structured e-forms) , EAMS help desk and UDQ 
operator, tips and tricks, troubleshooting and an appendix. 

4. Section 10206. 1. Electronic Document Filing; Electronic Adjudication 
Management System Business Rules for JET Filers; Incorporation. 

• This section provides that JET filing shall follow the procedures set forth in the 
Electronic Adjudication Management System JET File Business Rules and 
Technical Specifications, Version 4.0, dated January 1, 2013.  The document is 
incorporated by reference. 

• The JET File system was created to electronically process forms and minimize or 
eliminate the need for manual filing.  JET Filing reduces the overall volume of 
processed paper. 

• JET filers have three ways to use JET: (1) purchase or rent software from an 
approved vendor that lets allows them to JET file directly; (2) use a third party 
filer to transmit on their behalf; or (3) build their own transmission process using 
the technical specifications.  The purpose of the JET File Business Rules and 
Technical Specifications is to provide JET filing specifications required for both 
EAMS and submitters’ systems.  The document includes the JET File business 
rules and identifies the JET filing technical requirements.  This document also 
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contains detailed system design artifacts such as use cases and class diagrams.  
The document lists the JET file system requirements, the SFTP Bulk filing 
requirements and technical use cases, the EAMS JET file bulk business rules, 
xml layout specifications and schema definitions, error codes and messages, 
JET file system security, guidelines and standards, and appendices. 

5. Section 10206.2. Electronic Filing Exemption 

• This section provides an exemption from the electronic filing rules for any 
unrepresented injured employee, any unrepresented dependent of an injured 
employee, or any unrepresented uninsured employer. 

6. Section 10206.3. Time of Filing of Documents 

• This section sets forth the rules regarding when an electronically filed document 
is deemed to have been filed.  An electronically transmitted document shall be 
deemed to have been received by EAMS when the electronic transmission of the 
document into EAMS is complete.  A document received electronically after 5:00 
pm of a court day (i.e., Monday through Friday, except designated State 
holidays) shall be deemed filed as of the next court day. 

• When an e-form is filed electronically, the party filing the document shall verify 
completion of filing pursuant to the procedures set forth in the EAMS E-Form 
Filing Reference Guide, Version 2.0. 

• When a document is filed using JET filing, the party filing the document shall 
verify completion of filing pursuant to the EAMS JET File Business Rules and 
Technical Specifications, Version 4.0. 

7. Section 10206.4. Uniform Assigned Names 

• This section provides that uniform assigned names (UAN) shall be created and 
assigned for claims administrators, representatives and lien claimant 
organizations by the DWC Central Registration Unit.  The Central Registration 
Unit shall maintain the website list of uniform names and addresses of claims 
administrators’ offices, representatives’ offices, and lien claimant organization. 

8. Section 10206.5. Form and Size Requirements for Electronic Filed 
Documents. 

• This section sets forth the standards for filing an electronic document: 

(1) All electronically filed documents shall be submitted by using the appropriate 
e-form or XML file. 
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(2) Any document that is required to accompany an electronic form shall be filed 
as an attachment to the electronic form and shall be submitted in one of the 
following four file formats: “PDF/A1-a  (Portable Document Format),” “DOC 
(“.doc” Microsoft Word document),” “XLS” (“.xls” Microsoft Excel worksheet 
sheet),” or “TIFF (“.tif or .tiff” Tagged Image File Format).” Filing using the 
“PDF/A1-a” is preferred.    

(3) With the exception of electronic forms and required attachments, no 
embedded data shall be allowed in electronically filed documents.  

(4) The filing party shall take all reasonable steps to ensure that the filing does 
not contain computer code, including viruses that might be harmful to EAMS or to 
other users of EAMS.  Any electronically submitted document that is determined 
to contain a virus or other potentially harmful computer code may not be 
processed and may be deleted. 

(5) If it is necessary to attach a document to an e-form, the filing party shall verify 
the readability of the scanned document before submitting it to EAMS. 

• The section also provides that service of any document that has been filed 
electronically shall include a copy of the entire e-form, all attachments and EAMS 
cover sheet.  The proof of service for any electronically filed document shall 
identify the serving office’s EAMS administrator and provide that individual’s 
contact information. 

9. Section 10206.14. DWC E-Forms and DWC Unstructured Forms. 

• This section provides that authorized e-form filers shall use the e-forms from the 
external user home page. E-forms filing may be obtained from the DWC website 
at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/forms.html#EAMSForms.   

10. Section 10206.15.  DWC JET Forms. 

• This section provides that authorized JET filers shall file forms using the EAMS 
JET File Business Rules and Technical Specifications, Version 4.0. JET filing 
forms may be obtained from the DWC website at 
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/forms.html.   

11. Section 10207.  Initial Lien Filing Fees 

• This section provides what type of liens must be filed with the appeals board in 
writing or electronically using a form approved by the appeals board.  It also 
states which type of liens must pay the initial filing fee. The lien must be 
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accompanied by a proof of service and any other documents required by the 
appeals board.  

• Unless exempt pursuant to Labor Code section 4903.06(b), prior to or at the filing 
of an initial lien pursuant to Labor Code section 4903(b), the lien claimant shall 
submit a filing fee in the amount of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) to the DWC, 
using a form approved by the appeals board. A filing fee is required for each 
case in which the lien is filed; however, where one or more liens or one or more 
costs filed as a lien is filed in more than one case involving the same injured 
worker and same service or services by the same lien claimant, only one filing 
fee needs to be paid. 

• The filing fee shall be collected by the Administrative Director.  

• E-Forms filers shall pay the initial lien filing fee following with the procedures set 
forth in the EAMS E-Form Filing Reference Guide. 

• JET Filers shall pay the initial lien filing fee following the procedures set forth in 
the EAMS JET File Business Rules and Technical Specifications, Version 4.0. 

• If the initial section 4903(b) lien filing fee has been previously paid, the lien 
claimant shall submit written documentation of confirmation of payment when 
filing the Declaration of Readiness to Proceed for a lien conference.  

• When filing an initial lien, a lien claimant that claims that a filing fee is not 
required or that a lien filed under Labor Code section 4903(b) is exempt from the 
filing fee shall so indicate that status on the lien form. 

• If no application exists for the employee at the time of the initial section 4903(b) 
lien filing, the lien claimant shall file any necessary application(s) and duty to 
investigate verification pursuant to section 10770.5.  In such cases, the ADJ case 
number shall be assigned by the appeals board. The lien claimant will receive a 
Notice of Application assigning a case number. The lien claimant may thereafter 
file the initial lien claim or claim of cost filed as a lien accompanied with the filing 
fee required by Labor Code section 4903.05 or confirmation of payment. 

• For an initial lien pursuant to Labor Code section 4903(b) that is not exempt 
pursuant to Labor Code section 4903.06(b) confirmation of payment shall be filed 
with the Declaration of Readiness to Proceed for a lien conference.  

• The claims of two or more providers of goods or services shall not be merged 
into a single section 4903(b) lien.  
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• When a lien claimant files liens or claims of costs filed as a lien in more than one 
case at the same time, the filing fee or fees may be paid in a single transaction 
following the instructions set forth in the EAMS E-Form Filing Reference Guide or 
the EAMS JET File Business Rules and Technical Specifications, Version 4.0. 

• A section 4903(b) lien or claims of costs filed as a lien submitted for filing on or 
after January 1, 2013 that does not comply with the requirements of this section 
shall be invalid, even if lodged with the appeals board, and shall not operate to 
preserve or toll any time limit for filing of the lien. 

• Any section 4903(b) lien or claims of costs filed as a lien filed for goods or 
services that are not the proper subject of a lien may be dismissed upon request 
of a party by verified petition or on the appeals board’s own motion. If the section 
4903(b) lien or claim of costs filed as a lien is dismissed, the lien claimant will not 
be entitled to reimbursement of the filing fee. 

• Unless exempt pursuant to Labor Code section 4903.06(b), no initial section 
4903(b) lien or claim of costs filed as a lien shall be accepted for filing on or after 
the effective date of these regulations unless accompanied by full payment for 
the filing fee required by Labor Code section 4903.05.  Until receipt of proper 
payment or confirmation of payment, the lien shall not be deemed to have been 
received or filed for any purpose. 

• When the attorney for the employee or dependent or any assignee of the lien 
claimant files the initial medical costs, that filing shall be deemed to have been 
made by an agent for the medical provider and payment of the filing fee required 
by Labor Code section 4903.05 shall be required of the filing party as if the lien 
had been filed directly by the lien claimant. 

12. Section 10208. Lien Activation Fees 

• This section sets forth what liens are subject to the $100 lien activation fees and 
how the payment is made.  It also clarifies which lien claimants are exempt from 
the payment and which lien claimants are not required to pay the lien activation 
fee. 

• Subdivision (b) clarifies that lien claimants of previously consolidated cases of 
liens or costs that were filed as a lien prior to January 1, 2013, shall be subject to 
a lien activation fee in the sum of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each injured 
worker. Payment shall be made at or before the lien conference, but no later than 
January 1, 2014. 
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• Subdivision (c) provides that the lien activation fee shall be collected by the 
Administrative Director.  All fees shall be deposited in the Workers’ 
Compensation Administration Revolving Fund and applied for the purposes of 
that fund. 

• E-Forms filers shall pay the lien activation fee following the procedures set forth 
in the EAMS E-Form Filing Reference Guide, Version 1.0. 

• JET filers shall pay the lien activation fee following the procedures set forth in the 
EAMS JET File Business Rules and Technical Specifications, Version 4.0.  

• If the activation fee for a section 4903(b) lien filed prior to January 1, 2013 or the 
cost filed as a lien prior to January 1, 2013 has been previously paid, the lien 
claimant shall submit confirmation of payment with the Declaration of Readiness 
to Proceed for a lien conference. 

• All lien claimants that are required to pay an activation fee pursuant to this article 
that did not file the Declaration of Readiness to Proceed for a lien conference 
and remain a lien claimant of record at the time of a lien conference or 
consolidated lien conference shall submit confirmation of payment of the lien 
activation fee at the lien conference. 

DETERMINATION OF SIGNIFICANT STATEWIDE ADVERSE ECONOMIC IMPACT 
DIRECTLY AFFECTING BUSINESS 

Physicians, clinics, hospitals, pharmacies and other providers of medical and ancillary 
services to injured workers and who have fee disputes with the workers’ employers or 
insurers will be impacted by the statutory requirement to pay a filing fee or activation fee 
before they pursue a lien for the disputed amount.  

The Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Workers’ Compensation has made 
an initial determination that the adoption of these regulations may have significant, 
statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting business.  The Division of 
Workers’ compensation has not considered proposed alternatives that would lessen any 
adverse economic impact on business and invites you to submit proposals.  Submission 
may include the following considerations: (1) The establishment of differing compliance 
or reporting requirements or timetables that take into account the resources available to 
business; (ii) Consolidation or simplification or compliance and reporting requirements 
for businesses; (iii) The use of performance standards rather than prescriptive 
standards; (iv) Exemption or partial exemption from the regulatory requirements for 
businesses.  

POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 
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The objective of the proposed emergency regulations is to implement the requirement 
that certain lien claimants must electronically file their liens and pay for either a lien filing 
fee or lien activation fee as mandated by Labor Code sections 4903.05 and 4903.06.  A 
2011 report prepared by the Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ 
Compensation indicates approximately 350,000 liens were filed in 2010 and over 
450,000 were expected in 2011. Medical treatment liens account for more than 60% of 
the liens filed and 80% of the dollars in dispute.  Each lien adds an average of $400 to 
$1000 of loss adjustment expense to a workers’ compensation claim, according to 
estimates by Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau of California (WCIRB) 
and CHSWC, respectively.  Collectively they add over $256 million to $640 million of 
frictional costs to the workers’ compensation system.  The reduction in liens, particularly 
nuisance liens that are not worth the payment of a $150 filing fee, is expected to save 
California employers and insurers from $106 million to $743 million annually  (including 
settlement costs).  The requirement that most liens must be filed electronically will also 
reduce system costs. 

MATTERS PRESCRIBED BY STATUTE APPLICABLE TO THE AGENCY OR TO 
ANY SPECIFIC REGULATION OR CLASS OF REGULATIONS 

NONE 

MANDATE ON LOCAL AGENCIES OR SCHOOL DISTRICTS 

The Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Workers’ Compensation has 
determined that this proposed regulatory action would not impose a mandate on local 
agencies or school districts.   

FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

A. Cost or Savings to any state agency: NONE 

B. Cost to any local agency required to be reimbursed under Part 7(commencing 
with Section 17500) of Division 4: NONE 

C. Cost to any school district required to be reimbursed under Part 7 (commencing 
with Section 17500) of Division 4: NONE 

D. Other nondiscretionary cost or savings imposed on local agencies: NONE 

E. Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: NONE 

STATEMENT OF CONFIRMATION OF 
MAILING OF FIVE-DAY READOPTION OF EMERGENCY NOTICE 

(Title 1, CCR section 50(a)(5)(A)) 
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The Division of Workers’ Compensation sent notice of the proposed readoption of 
emergency action to every person who has filed a request for notice of regulatory action 
at least five working days before submitting the emergency regulations to the Office of 
Administrative Law in accordance with the requirements of Government Code section 
11346.1(a)(2). 


