



NEWSLINE

Newsline No.: 2017-46

Date: June 20, 2017

DWC Announces Temporary Total Disability Rates for 2018

The Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) announces that the 2018 minimum and maximum temporary total disability (TTD) rates will increase on January 1, 2018. The minimum TTD rate will increase from \$175.88 to \$182.29 and the maximum TTD rate will increase from \$1,172.57 to \$1215.27 per week.

Labor Code section 4453(a) (10) requires the rate for TTD be increased by an amount equal to percentage increase in the State Average Weekly Wage (SAWW) as compared to the prior year. The SAWW is defined as the average weekly wage paid to employees covered by unemployment insurance as reported by the U.S. Department of Labor for California for the 12 months ending March 31 in the year preceding the injury. In the 12 months ending March 31, 2017, the SAWW increased from \$1,164.51 to \$1,206.92—an increase of 3.642 percent.

Under Labor Code section 4659(c), workers with a date of injury on or after January 1, 2003 who are receiving life pension (LP) or permanent total disability (PTD) benefits are also entitled to have their weekly LP or PTD rate adjusted based on the SAWW.

The <u>first quarter 2016 SAWW figures</u> may be verified at the U.S. Department of Labor website, as can the <u>first quarter 2017 SAWW figures</u>.

###



The <u>California Department of Industrial Relations</u>, established in 1927, protects and improves the health, safety, and economic well-being of over 18 million wage earners, and helps their employers comply with state labor laws. DIR is housed within the <u>Labor & Workforce Development Agency</u>. Non-media inquiries can contact DIR's Communications Call Center at 1-844-LABOR-DIR (1-844-522-6734) for help in locating the appropriate <u>division or program</u> in our department.