
 

 

 

 

N   E   W   S   L   I   N   E 

P.O. Box 420603 · San Francisco, CA · 94142-0603 · www.dir.ca.gov 

 

Newsline No.: 2016-19 Date: February 10, 2016 
 
DWC Reminds Claims Administrators Regarding Utilization Review 
Procedures 
 
The Audit and Enforcement Unit of the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will 
be noticing more target audits in 2016 to address utilization review (UR) complaints. 

All claims administrators are required by law to have a utilization review program that is 
governed by written policies and procedures and used to decide whether or not a 
treatment recommended by an injured worker’s physician is medically necessary under 
evidence-based guidelines. All UR programs must have a medical director. Any medical 
decision that modifies or denies a medical treatment request must be made by a 
reviewing physician, and the services must be within that physician’s scope of practice. 

As a reminder, the UR time limit for responding to a treatment request begins when the 
request for authorization (RFA) is first received, whether by the employer, claims 
administrator, or utilization review organization (URO). The decision on an RFA 
submitted for prospective review must be made within five business days from first 
receipt of the request, unless additional reasonable medical information is needed to 
make the decision. In that case, the additional information must be requested by the fifth 
business day, then up to 14 calendar days from the date of receipt of the original RFA 
are allowed for making the decision on the RFA. If more than one treatment request is 
listed on an RFA, all of the treatment requests must be addressed within the applicable 
timeframe. 

The penalties for failure to comply with the UR rules are set forth in California Code of 
Regulations, title 8, section 9792.12. For example, if an RFA is not answered, the 
mandatory penalty is $1,000 for each prospective review. There is also a $100 penalty 
for a late response to an RFA. If a non-physician delays, denies or modifies a treatment 
request, there is a $25,000 penalty. Claims administrators are advised to review the UR 
timeframes with their staff and UROs to ensure the crucial timeframes are being met.   
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The California Department of Industrial Relations, established in 1927, protects and improves the health, safety, and 
economic well-being of over 18 million wage earners, and helps their employers comply with state labor laws. DIR is 
housed within the Labor & Workforce Development Agency. Non-media inquiries can contact DIR’s Communications 
Call Center at 1-844-LABOR-DIR (1-844-522-6734) for help in locating the appropriate division or program in our 
department. 
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