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California Paid Sick Leave Law Goes into Effect Today

Oakland— California Labor Commissioner Julie A. Su reminds employers that
California’s paid sick leave law goes into effect today.

“With California’s new paid sick leave law in effect, most workers now won’t have to
choose between their family’s health and their job,” said Christine Baker, Director of the
Department of Industrial Relations (DIR). The Labor Commissioner’s Office is a division
within DIR.

The Healthy Workplace Healthy Family Act of 2014 (Assembly bill 1522) generally
provides most employees the ability to accrue at least one hour of paid sick leave for
every 30 hours worked, paid at the regular rate of the worker's wages. The employer
can also provide employees at least 24 hours of sick leave up front for use during the
year. Workers may begin using their accrued hours beginning on the 90th day of
employment.

“In order to help achieve healthier workplaces, my office is committed to providing
essential education to workers and employers on their rights and responsibilities under
the new paid sick leave law,” said Labor Commissioner Julie A. Su.

Retaliation or discrimination against an employee who requests paid sick days or uses
paid sick days or both are prohibited. An employee can file a complaint with the Labor
Commissioner against an employer who retaliates or discriminates against an
employee.

Employers and workers can refer to DIR’s webpage for more information on the new
law, including a recorded training webinar and presentation slides, as well as FAQ'’s.
DIR has also produced a short video on the new law.

The Labor Commissioner’s Office, formally known as the Division of Labor Standards
Enforcement, inspects workplaces for wage and hour violations, adjudicates wage
claims, enforces prevailing wage rates and apprenticeship standards in public works
projects, investigates retaliation and whistleblower complaints, issues licenses and
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http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/ab1522.html
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/ab1522.html
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/Paid_Sick_Leave_4.8.15_v2.wmv
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/Paid_Sick_Leave_PowerPoint.pdf
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/Paid_Sick_Leave.htm
https://youtu.be/S4g5_FvTVkk
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registrations for businesses, and educates the public on labor laws. Updated
information on California labor laws is available online.

Employees with work-related questions or complaints may contact DIR’s Call Center in
English or Spanish at 844-LABOR-DIR (844-522-6734). California Workers’ Information
line at 866-924-9757 offers recorded messages in English and Spanish on a variety of

work-related topics.

Members of the press may call Erika Monterroza at (510) 286-1164 or Peter Melton at
(510) 286-7046.
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The California Department of Industrial Relations, established in 1927, protects and improves the health, safety, and
economic well-being of over 18 million wage earners, and helps their employers comply with state labor laws. DIR is
housed within the Labor & Workforce Development Agency. For general inquiries, contact DIR's Communications
Call Center at 1-844-LABOR-DIR (1-844-522-6734) for help in locating the appropriate division or program in our
department.
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