FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
State Labor Commissioner cites local business owners for failure to comply with state labor laws
San Francisco—Officials with the State Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (Labor Commissioner’s Office) recently cited local business owners at 155 locations in 11 counties across Northern California for failure to comply with the state labor laws. Seventy-three violations of state labor laws were found and citations totaling $198,000 were issued.
“It’s our job to ensure that employers meet state labor laws, that employees are paid proper wages and that their rights and protections are safeguarded,” said California Labor Commissioner, Angela Bradstreet. “If the evidence warrants it, we will conduct detailed payroll audits and seek back wages and penalties from businesses we suspect violated workplace laws.”
Sweeps were made of businesses located as far north as Redding, as far south as Bakersfield and included the San Francisco Bay Area. The unannounced visits were made to various types of businesses including retail, restaurants, dry cleaners and nail and beauty shops in Alameda, Fresno, Kern, Monterey, Napa, Sacramento, San Francisco, Santa Clara, Shasta, Solano, and Sonoma counties. To request a list of the businesses cited email the Department of Industrial Relations at: Communications@dir.ca.gov.
The penalties assessed totaled $166,000 for violations such as not having workers’ compensation insurance coverage, $27,000 for failure to provide itemized deductions statements with pay, $4,500 for allowing minors to work without permits and $600 for failure to pay minimum wage.
“We will not allow flagrant violations of our labor laws,” Bradstreet added. “These employees are entitled to be compensated at the rate the law requires, and all California business owners deserve a level playing field so they can remain competitive, thriving enterprises.”
To learn more about the functions of the California Labor Commissioner, visit our web site at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse.
# # #