
Penalties
NOT following the law will hurt your business.
Here are some examples of the kinds of penalties you would owe 
your workers and state agencies.

IF YOU: YOU WOULD OWE:

Misclassify 
employees as 
independent 
contractors

Fines of $5,000 to  
$25,000 per violation,  
plus unpaid payroll taxes

Fail to pay the 
minimum  
wage or overtime; 
fail to provide rest 
and meal breaks

All wages owed, plus penalties

Fail to provide a 
pay stub

$250 per employee each time 
they are paid

Up to $25,000 for each  
serious violation and  
a possible shutdown  
of operating equipment

Violate health and 
safety rules

Punish or retaliate  
against workers

All wages owed, a fine of up 
to $10,000 per employee, and 
workers get their jobs back

Fail to have 
workers’ 
compensation 
insurance

Fail to have 
appropriate 
licensing

At least $1,500 per employee, 
and no one can work until all 
workers are covered

Fines of up to $5,000 and/
or imprisonment

TOTAL: NOT WORTH 
THE RISK!

In some cases, criminal charges may be filed. You may serve 
up to 10 years in jail.

This booklet provides general information 
and is not meant to serve as legal advice. 
It was developed by the Department of 
Industrial Relations and its Labor Enforcement 
Task Force with assistance from the Labor 
Occupational Health Program at UC Berkeley. 

Design by Cuttriss & Hambleton

A s a landscape contractor, 
you have a lot to consider. 
You bring jobs to the 

community and create landscapes for 
people to enjoy.  When you under- 
stand and comply with labor laws, you 
protect the investment you have made, 
promote a positive image, and avoid 
paying penalties. 

Through the Labor Enforcement Task 
Force (LETF), under the direction of 
the Department of Industrial Relations, 
California agencies work together to 
make sure employers are following 
labor, health and safety, licensing, and 
payroll tax laws. LETF can help you 
understand which laws apply to you 
and how to comply. LETF also inspects 
businesses and cites employers if 
violations are found.
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This brochure describes some 
of the common problems LETF 
inspectors find in construction.  
It also lists where you can get help.

California Labor 
Commissioner cites landscape 
contractor over $650,000 for 
wage theft violations.  
Workers at a Sacramento landscaping 
company filed a complaint for incorrect 
wages and misclassification as independent 
contractors. LETF conducted an inspection 
and found that the employer had as 
many as 43 employees but was reporting 
less than 10 employees on payroll. The 
California Labor Commissioner’s Office 
cited the employer $664,764 for wage 
theft violations affecting up to 43 workers 
including minimum wage violations, unpaid 

overtime, and failure to 
provide itemized wage 

statements.  

Provide a safe 
workplace

Have appropriate 
licenses and 

permits

Give rest and meal 
breaks

Pay all payroll 
taxes and keep 

records of 
employees and 

contractors

Have workers’ 
compensation 

insurance

Allow workers to 
bring up concerns 
without punishing 

them

As an employer, 
some of your 

KEY  
RESPONSIBILITIES 

are to:

Provide a 
workplace free of 
discrimination and 

harassment

Pay at least 
minimum or 

prevailing wage 
and overtime 

for extra hours
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Problems LETF finds  
in landscaping
Licensing
Landscape contractors are often cited for:
1 Not having a contractor’s license, or hiring  

unlicensed subcontractors.  

Employee Hiring
Landscape contractors are often cited for:
1 Misclassifying emplo yees as independent contractors.

In September 2019, Governor Newsom signed Assembly 
Bill (AB) 5 into law. The law addresses the “employment 
status” of workers when they are claimed to be an 
independent contractor and not an employee. For more 
information, visit the Employment Status Portal: https://
www.labor.ca.gov/employmentstatus/.

2 Not keeping all required records. 

You must keep records of all your employees for the past 
four years. This should include name, address, job type, and 
last four digits of the Social Security number. For minors 
under 18, you must list their dates of birth.  

 

 

Wages and Breaks 
Landscape contractors are often cited for:
1 Not paying workers the wages they are owed.  

• You must pay at least minimum wage for all hours  
worked. If the city where you are working or the  
federal government has a higher minimum wage  
than the state, then you must pay whichever of those  
rates is the highest. For minimum wage rates, see page 4.
• You must pay overtime (1½ times the regular   
rate of pay) and double-time (twice the regular rate  
of pay) according to the rules stated in Industrial  
Wage Commission Order No. 16-2001 (which must  
be posted at your workplace where employees can  
read it easily). 

2  Paying a piece rate or other nonhourly rate that does 
not meet minimum-wage requirements (including any 
required overtime) or does not seperately compensate 
workers for required breaks and other nonproductive 
time. For more information on piece rate compensation, 
see page 4.

  
  
 
  
 
  
  
 
  
  
 

For example, if you pay a worker $32 for every ditch he 
digs, and he digs 2 ditches in 8 hours, he has earned $8 
per hour, which is less than minimum wage. You must pay 
the difference.             

3 Not allowing rest or meal breaks.

Workers must receive:
• A paid 10-minute rest break for every 4 hours 

of work.  

• An unpaid meal break of at least 30 minutes if they 
work more than 5 hours. (An employee can agree to 
skip meal breaks if the workday is 6 hours or less.)

4 Not giving pay stubs or not paying payroll tax.

You must give out pay stubs, list the deductions, and pay 
payroll tax. For each pay period, keep records  
of work hours and amounts paid to each worker.

Visit: www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DLSE-FAQs.htm for more 
information on all the items that must be included in a wage stub.

 
 

 

 

 

Health and Safety
Landscape contractors are often cited for:
1 Not complying with the following regulations:

• § 3395 Establish a Heat Illness Prevention Plan

• § 3203 Establish an Injury and Illness Prevention Program

• § 3276 (e) Care, use, inspection and maintenance of ladders

The landscaping industry is subject to various safety 
orders depending on the type of work that is being 
performed. For example;  planting or trimming trees 
would fall under General Industry Safety Orders, but 
building a retaining wall or patio would fall under 
Construction Safety Orders. For more information, please 
visit the Title 8 Safety Orders webpage: www.dir.ca.gov/
samples/search/query.htm.

2 Not providing the equipment, tools or protective clothing 
that workers need to work safely.

3 Lacking a proper safety plan (Injury and Illness Prevention 
Program or IIPP).  

You must have a written plan to identify hazards and protect 
workers. You must also have a way for workers to make 
suggestions without threat of being fired or punished.

4 Poor records of training. 

Safety training must be in a language that workers understand. 
Keep records that include date, type of training, name of 
trainer, and names of workers who attended. You must pay 
workers for the time they spend in training. 

 

 

 

https://www.labor.ca.gov/employmentstatus/
https://www.labor.ca.gov/employmentstatus/
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DLSE-FAQs.htm
http://www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/query.htm
http://www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/query.htm
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Where to Get Help
There are resources that can help you understand which laws 
apply to you and how to comply.

LETF
Call the Labor Enforcement Task Force (LETF) toll free at  
855-297-5322 or go to www.dir.ca.gov/letf.

Cal/OSHA 
Call Cal/OSHA Consultation at 800-963-9424 or go to  
www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/consultation.html.
Consultation Services provides free health and safety 
consultation to employers. Consultation Services is separate 
from the Cal/OSHA Enforcement Branch. All your 
communications with Consultation Services are confidential. 
• To improve your safety plan, Cal/OSHA offers a template  

for a “high hazard” Injury and Illness Prevention Program.
• Go to www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/query.htm to find 

regulations about specific hazards (Title 8 standards).

Other sources of help
• Contractors State License Board, www.cslb.ca.gov

www.clca.org• California Landscape Contractors Association, 
• Small Business Development Centers
• Your workers’ compensation insurance broker can offer 

assistance, including help with developing a safety plan.
• The Governor’s Office of Business and Economic 

Development (GO-Biz): www.business.ca.gov

Stay up to date with new labor laws
Below are some resources to help you stay updated 
and comply with important recent changes to labor 
laws:

• Paid Sick Leave. Employers must do several 
things to comply with the Healthy Workplace 
Health Family Act; visit www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/
ab1522.html.

• Piece-Rate Compensation. Effective January 
1, 2016, AB 1513 adds section 226.2 to the 
Labor Code concerning how to compensate 
piece-rate workers for required breaks and 
other nonproductive time. Visit www.dir.ca.gov/
pieceratebackpayelection/AB_1513_FAQs.htm.

Retaliation is illegal
Employers can be required to reinstate fired 
employees, pay employees’ lost wages, and pay fines 
up to $10,000 per employee if they punish or fire 
workers for: 

• Speaking up about wages that are owed to 
them

• Reporting an injury or a health and  
safety hazard 

• Filing a claim or complaint with  
a government agency.

It is illegal for employers to threaten 
or retaliate against workers in any way. 
For example, employers cannot:
• Threaten workers with deportation
• Punish workers with undesirable tasks
• Fire workers or send them home
• Prevent workers from getting a different job.
You do not have to agree with the workers. If you 
are complying with labor laws, you do not have to 
make the changes that are being requested. But 
everyone benefits when workers feel safe enough 
to bring up concerns. Listen to your employees 
and involve them in coming up with solutions that 
work for everyone.

Schedule for California Minimum Wage Rate, 2020–
2023

Minimum wage 
for employers 

with 25 
employees or 

less

Minimum wage 
for employers 

with 26 
employees or 

moreDate
January 1, 

2020 $12.00/hour $13.00/hour

January 1, 
2021 $13.00/hour $14.00/hour

January 1, 
2022 $14.00/hour $15.00/hour

January 1, 
2023 $15.00/hour

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/consultation.html
http://www.dir.ca.gov/letf
http://www.dir.ca.gov/samples/search/query.htm
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
http://www.business.ca.gov
http://www.clca.org
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/ab1522.html
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/ab1522.html
http://www.dir.ca.gov/pieceratebackpayelection/AB_1513_FAQs.htm
http://www.dir.ca.gov/pieceratebackpayelection/AB_1513_FAQs.htm
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