
KNOW YOUR RIGHTS  
ON A PUBLIC WORKS PROJECT:

Prevailing Wage: For work on a project in California paid for by the public, 
you must be paid “prevailing wage,” a special kind of minimum wage that is 
higher than the state minimum wage. 

Fringe Benefits: In addition to prevailing wage rates, you may receive fringe 
benefits such as medical insurance, compensation for job-related injuries and illness, 
a retirement plan, vacation and holiday pay, and safety trainings.  Some contractors 
may have to pay you the benefits in wages instead of providing fringe benefits.

Overtime: If you work more than 8 hours per day on a weekday or work on 
a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday on a public works project, you must be paid a 
higher overtime or premium prevailing wage rate.  Limited exceptions to this 
rule can be found in section 4.1.7 of the public works manual, available online 
at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/PWManualCombined.pdf.

Meal and Rest Breaks: Most workers in California must receive an uninterrupted 
30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and a paid 10-minute rest 
period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a rest break even if you 
work less than 4 hours.

Deductions from Pay: Except for wages that are withheld as required by law 
(such as social security tax), your employer may not withhold or deduct wages 
from your pay.  For example, employers cannot deduct wages for uniforms and 
tools required for the job.

Reimbursement of Expenses: You must receive reimbursement for expenses, 
including supplies and tools needed for your job and the cost of mileage if you are 
required to use your personal car for work (other than commuting to and from your 
job site). However, if you earn at least twice the minimum wage, your employer 
can require you to provide certain hand tools customarily used in your occupation.

Travel and Subsistence: Your employer may also be responsible to pay for travel 
to a project and “subsistence,” or cost of living.  Email publicworks@dir.ca.gov to 
inquire about whether you should be paid for travel and subsistence on your job.

Reporting Time Pay: If you report to work expecting to work your usual 
schedule, but receive less than half of your usual hours, you must still be paid for at 
least half of your usual hours (for a minimum of at least 2 hours). 

Posting Requirement: The director of the California Department of Industrial 
Relations determines the prevailing wage rates payable for different crafts and 
work classifications in each part of the state. All employers on public works 
projects must post required laws and notices in a prominent place where they 
can be viewed easily.  These notices inform all employees about wage and hour, 
health and safety, and family leave laws.

Record Keeping and Pay Stubs: Employers must keep records for each 
employee of daily hours worked and rate of pay. Whether you are paid by check, 
in cash, or otherwise, your employer must provide a pay stub or wage statement 
that details the total hours worked, wages earned, deductions, and your 
employer’s name and address.  

Shift Differential Time: Additional prevailing wage rates may need to be paid 
if your work start time begins after 11:00 a.m.  You may be entitled to a higher rate 
for swing shift hours, such as beginning your day after 11:00 a.m., or for “graveyard 
hours,” such as working after 4:00 or 5:00 p.m.

FAQs 

1. Who is covered by prevailing wage laws? 
In general, prevailing wages must be paid to all workers employed on a public 

works project worth over $1,000. Some projects under $25,000 may receive 

special permission from the director of the Department of Industrial Relations to 

pay less than prevailing wage.

2. How do I know what the prevailing wage is and how it 
is calculated?  
All contractors must post required prevailing wage laws and notices in a 

prominent place where they can be viewed by all employees. The director 

of the Department of Industrial Relations calculates each prevailing wage 

rate based on the amount paid to a majority of workers engaged in that same 

craft, classification or type of work in a given geographical area. If there is no 

single rate paid to a majority, the rate paid to the greater number of workers 

determines the prevailing wage rate. 

3. Can I file a report if I am classified as an independent 
contractor? 
California’s labor laws do not apply to independent contractors. However, 

you may file a report if you believe that you have been improperly classified 

as an independent contractor. Some employers misclassify employees as 

independent contractors in order to avoid paying legally required wages 

and to avoid paying for costs such as workers’ compensation insurance. The 

Labor Commissioner will consider many factors when determining whether 

workers have been misclassified as independent contractors. 

4. When will I receive my unpaid prevailing wages?  
Investigations and assessments take anywhere from 30 days to several 

months. The Public Works Unit will send you the wages it recovers on your 

behalf. If the contractor refuses to pay, your payment will be delayed while 

the Labor Commissioner tries to collect the amount from the awarding body.

5. What if my boss fires, demotes or punishes me for 
reporting a public works violation?  
California law prohibits employers from retaliating against workers for exercising 

workplace rights. In addition, it is against the law for your employer to report 

or threaten to report your citizenship or immigration status because you have 

exercised your labor rights. If your employer retaliates against you, you can file a 

retaliation complaint with the Labor Commissioner’s Retaliation Investigation Unit.

6. What can I do if the deadline to file a public works 
complaint has passed?  
If 18 months have passed since the project’s completion, the Labor 

Commissioner’s Office cannot investigate the employer or issue an 

assessment. However, you may file a civil lawsuit in superior court if you 

do so within the deadline to file. You must file a civil lawsuit for statutory 

violations of prevailing wage, minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions 

from pay, or unpaid reimbursements within three years.

The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Office, 

also called the Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE), is part of the California 

Department of Industrial Relations. The Labor 

Commissioner’s Office is the state agency that 

investigates complaints of labor law violations. 

It enforces minimum labor standards to ensure 

employees are not permitted to work under 

substandard, unlawful conditions. It also 

protects employers who comply with the law 

from having to compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY 

NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

TO FILE A COMPLAINT. 

YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT REGARDLESS 

OF YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS. 

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER AND THE 

LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE 

AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE.

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT reviews and 

decides individual claims for unpaid wages and other 

labor law violations.

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT 

reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the 

Garment Worker Protection Act, a law known as AB 633. 

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) 

investigates reports of employers’ failure to provide minimum 

wage, overtime, or meal and rest periods to groups 

of workers. BOFE also investigates complaints against 

employers for violations of workers’ compensation, child 

labor, recordkeeping, licensing, and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor 

laws on public works construction projects. Prevailing wages 

are higher than the State minimum wage and are required for 

workers on most public construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INvESTIGATION UNIT 

investigates complaints of retaliation. Retaliation occurs 

when an employer takes actions such as firing a worker, 

reducing hours or pay because the worker took steps to 

enforce his or her labor rights.

THE jUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers 

collect their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines 

that an employer owes unpaid wages.
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VIOLATIONS OF PREVAILING WAGE LAWS ON PUBLIC WORKS PROJECTS IS CALLED WAGE THEFT. 
REPORT EMPLOYERS THAT COMMIT WAGE THEFT TO THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.To learn more, visit the Labor Commissioner’s website: www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/HowToFilePWComplaint.htm

PUBLIC WORKS PROjECTS INCLUDE ANY CONSTRUCTION OR 
DEVELOPMENT PAID FOR IN WHOLE OR IN PART BY PUBLIC FUNDS. 
In some instances, maintenance contracts with government agencies can also trigger public works 
laws. Examples of construction projects include roads, parks, and buildings owned by the government. 
Maintenance contracts may include landscaping projects and cleaning or replacement of traffic signal lights.

REPORT 
A LABOR 

VIOLATIOn 
On A PUBLIC 

COnSTRUCTIOn 
PROJECT

TO THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE



KNOW YOUR RIGHTS  
ON A PUBLIC WORKS PROJECT:

Prevailing Wage: For work on a project in California paid for by the public, 
you must be paid “prevailing wage,” a special kind of minimum wage that is 
higher than the state minimum wage. 

Fringe Benefits: In addition to prevailing wage rates, you may receive fringe 
benefits such as medical insurance, compensation for job-related injuries and illness, 
a retirement plan, vacation and holiday pay, and safety trainings.  Some contractors 
may have to pay you the benefits in wages instead of providing fringe benefits.

Overtime: If you work more than 8 hours per day on a weekday or work on 
a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday on a public works project, you must be paid a 
higher overtime or premium prevailing wage rate.  Limited exceptions to this 
rule can be found in section 4.1.7 of the public works manual, available online 
at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/PWManualCombined.pdf.

Meal and Rest Breaks: Most workers in California must receive an uninterrupted 
30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and a paid 10-minute rest 
period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a rest break even if you 
work less than 4 hours.

Deductions from Pay: Except for wages that are withheld as required by law 
(such as social security tax), your employer may not withhold or deduct wages 
from your pay.  For example, employers cannot deduct wages for uniforms and 
tools required for the job.

Reimbursement of Expenses: You must receive reimbursement for expenses, 
including supplies and tools needed for your job and the cost of mileage if you are 
required to use your personal car for work (other than commuting to and from your 
job site). However, if you earn at least twice the minimum wage, your employer 
can require you to provide certain hand tools customarily used in your occupation.

Travel and Subsistence: Your employer may also be responsible to pay for travel 
to a project and “subsistence,” or cost of living.  Email publicworks@dir.ca.gov to 
inquire about whether you should be paid for travel and subsistence on your job.

Reporting Time Pay: If you report to work expecting to work your usual 
schedule, but receive less than half of your usual hours, you must still be paid for at 
least half of your usual hours (for a minimum of at least 2 hours). 

Posting Requirement: The director of the California Department of Industrial 
Relations determines the prevailing wage rates payable for different crafts and 
work classifications in each part of the state. All employers on public works 
projects must post required laws and notices in a prominent place where they 
can be viewed easily.  These notices inform all employees about wage and hour, 
health and safety, and family leave laws.

Record Keeping and Pay Stubs: Employers must keep records for each 
employee of daily hours worked and rate of pay. Whether you are paid by check, 
in cash, or otherwise, your employer must provide a pay stub or wage statement 
that details the total hours worked, wages earned, deductions, and your 
employer’s name and address.  

Shift Differential Time: Additional prevailing wage rates may need to be paid 
if your work start time begins after 11:00 a.m.  You may be entitled to a higher rate 
for swing shift hours, such as beginning your day after 11:00 a.m., or for “graveyard 
hours,” such as working after 4:00 or 5:00 p.m.

FAQs 

1. Who is covered by prevailing wage laws? 
In general, prevailing wages must be paid to all workers employed on a public 

works project worth over $1,000. Some projects under $25,000 may receive 

special permission from the director of the Department of Industrial Relations to 

pay less than prevailing wage.

2. How do I know what the prevailing wage is and how it 
is calculated?  
All contractors must post required prevailing wage laws and notices in a 

prominent place where they can be viewed by all employees. The director 

of the Department of Industrial Relations calculates each prevailing wage 

rate based on the amount paid to a majority of workers engaged in that same 

craft, classification or type of work in a given geographical area. If there is no 

single rate paid to a majority, the rate paid to the greater number of workers 

determines the prevailing wage rate. 

3. Can I file a report if I am classified as an independent 
contractor? 
California’s labor laws do not apply to independent contractors. However, 

you may file a report if you believe that you have been improperly classified 

as an independent contractor. Some employers misclassify employees as 

independent contractors in order to avoid paying legally required wages 

and to avoid paying for costs such as workers’ compensation insurance. The 

Labor Commissioner will consider many factors when determining whether 

workers have been misclassified as independent contractors. 

4. When will I receive my unpaid prevailing wages?  
Investigations and assessments take anywhere from 30 days to several 

months. The Public Works Unit will send you the wages it recovers on your 

behalf. If the contractor refuses to pay, your payment will be delayed while 

the Labor Commissioner tries to collect the amount from the awarding body.

5. What if my boss fires, demotes or punishes me for 
reporting a public works violation?  
California law prohibits employers from retaliating against workers for exercising 

workplace rights. In addition, it is against the law for your employer to report 

or threaten to report your citizenship or immigration status because you have 

exercised your labor rights. If your employer retaliates against you, you can file a 

retaliation complaint with the Labor Commissioner’s Retaliation Investigation Unit.

6. What can I do if the deadline to file a public works 
complaint has passed?  
If 18 months have passed since the project’s completion, the Labor 

Commissioner’s Office cannot investigate the employer or issue an 

assessment. However, you may file a civil lawsuit in superior court if you 

do so within the deadline to file. You must file a civil lawsuit for statutory 

violations of prevailing wage, minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions 

from pay, or unpaid reimbursements within three years.

The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Office, 

also called the Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE), is part of the California 

Department of Industrial Relations. The Labor 

Commissioner’s Office is the state agency that 

investigates complaints of labor law violations. 

It enforces minimum labor standards to ensure 

employees are not permitted to work under 

substandard, unlawful conditions. It also 

protects employers who comply with the law 

from having to compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY 

NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

TO FILE A COMPLAINT. 

YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT REGARDLESS 

OF YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS. 

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER AND THE 

LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE 

AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE.

REPORT 
A LABOR 

VIOLATIOn 
On A PUBLIC 

COnSTRUCTIOn 
PROJECT

TO THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT reviews and 

decides individual claims for unpaid wages and other 

labor law violations.

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT 

reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the 

Garment Worker Protection Act, a law known as AB 633. 

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) 

investigates reports of employers’ failure to provide minimum 

wage, overtime, or meal and rest periods to groups 

of workers. BOFE also investigates complaints against 

employers for violations of workers’ compensation, child 

labor, recordkeeping, licensing, and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor 

laws on public works construction projects. Prevailing wages 

are higher than the State minimum wage and are required for 

workers on most public construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INvESTIGATION UNIT 

investigates complaints of retaliation. Retaliation occurs 

when an employer takes actions such as firing a worker, 

reducing hours or pay because the worker took steps to 

enforce his or her labor rights.

THE jUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers 

collect their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines 

that an employer owes unpaid wages.

REV. 11/2014

LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S 
OFFICE LOCATIONS

SAN jOSE
(408) 277-1266

SANTA ANA 
(714) 558-4910

SANTA BARBARA 
(805) 568-1222

SANTA ROSA 
(707) 576-2362

STOCKTON 
(209) 948-7771

vAN NUYS 
(818) 901-5315

REDDING 
(530) 225-2655

SACRAMENTO 
(916) 263-1811

SALINAS 
(831) 443-3041

SAN BERNARDINO 
(909) 383-4334

SAN DIEGO 
(619) 220-5451

SAN FRANCISCO 
(415) 703-5300

BAKERSFIELD 
(661) 587-3060

EL CENTRO 
(760) 353-0607

FRESNO 
(559) 244-5340

LONG BEACH 
(562) 590-5048

LOS ANGELES 
(213) 620-6330

OAKLAND 
(510) 622-3273

PW (ENGLISH)

VIOLATIONS OF PREVAILING WAGE LAWS ON PUBLIC WORKS PROJECTS IS CALLED WAGE THEFT. 
REPORT EMPLOYERS THAT COMMIT WAGE THEFT TO THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.To learn more, visit the Labor Commissioner’s website: www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/HowToFilePWComplaint.htm

PUBLIC WORKS PROjECTS INCLUDE ANY CONSTRUCTION OR 
DEVELOPMENT PAID FOR IN WHOLE OR IN PART BY PUBLIC FUNDS. 
In some instances, maintenance contracts with government agencies can also trigger public works 
laws. Examples of construction projects include roads, parks, and buildings owned by the government. 
Maintenance contracts may include landscaping projects and cleaning or replacement of traffic signal lights.



[THE PUBLIC WORKS COMPLAINT PROCESS]

3 WHAT TO ExPECT DURING AN INVESTIGATION

The Public Works Unit actively monitors public works projects and may initiate investigations at any time. 
Investigators may take the following actions: 

•	 Review (“audit”) payroll and time records to determine whether the employer has paid all 
prevailing wages as required by law.

•	 Interview workers involved with the project about potential violations. Investigators interview 
workers outside of the worksite and away from the employer’s view whenever possible. If you 
are nervous about speaking to investigators at your worksite, ask them for their business cards 
to call them afer the inspection. Meetings can be arranged during non-work hours at another 
public place such as a restaurant. 

•	 Inspect the worksite(s) for evidence of failure to pay or post notices of prevailing wage rates.

The Public Works Unit conducts certain inspections with other state agencies. For example, the Division 
of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) may join the investigation if there are suspected health 
and safety violations, and the California Employment Development Department (EDD) may join if there are 
suspected tax and payroll violations. These agencies may also ask for your assistance in answering questions 
or providing documentation. Your participation is completely voluntary.

2 HOW TO FILE A PUBLIC WORKS COMPLAINT

Anyone who wishes to report a violation of the state’s public works laws can fle a public works complaint with 
the Labor Commissioner. Current or former employees must complete and fle the Public Works – Worker 
Complaint form (available in English and Spanish), while other members of the public must use the Public Works 
– Public Complaint form. These forms are available at any of the Labor Commissioner’s Ofce locations and 
online at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse. If you fle your report in person at the Labor Commissioner’s Ofce and need an 
interpreter, it is recommended that you bring someone who can interpret for you at the frst visit. Afer you fle a 
complaint, an interpreter will be provided as needed.

You will need to provide information about the public works project, the employer, the awarding body, and 
the general contractor on the complaint form. The awarding body is the government entity that owns the 
project and awarded it to the general contractor. Submit the complaint form with copies of your supporting 
documents. Do not submit originals, as they may not be returned to you. Afer fling your complaint, you will 
receive a Notifcation of Complaint Filed with the name of the investigator assigned to your case. The Labor 
Commissioner will keep your complaint confdential to the maximum extent possible under the law but in 
certain situations, may be required to disclose copies of complaints to employers.

FINAL STEPS OF THE BOFE PUBLIC WORKS
INVESTIGATION PROCESS

If the Public Works Unit fnds a violation, an investigator with the Labor Commissioner will issue a Civil Wage 
and Penalty Assessment (CWPA) which determines the amount of unpaid wages owed to workers, as well as 
penalties the contractor or subcontractor owes. 

A contractor may appeal the assessment within 60 days. If the contractor loses the appeal, the Labor 
Commissioner will fle a judgment and collect the assessment amount. If a contractor or subcontractor 
cannot pay the amount assessed, the Labor Commissioner can obtain the amount owed from the awarding 
body (the agency that awarded the contract for public work).

Update the Public Works Unit of any change in your address or phone number in case the Labor 
Commissioner collects your unpaid wages.

4

CALIFORNIA LABOR LAWS PROTECT ALL WORKERS REGARDLESS OF

IMMIGRATION STATUS. THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE WILL NOT ASK

ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS

TO OTHER GOvERNMENT AGENCIES.
Complaints regarding work in all other counties should be
delivered to the Labor Commissioner’s Sacramento ofce:

DLSE – BOFE Public Works
Attn: Complaints Unit
2031 Howe Avenue, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95825

Complaints regarding work in the following counties 
should be submitted to the Labor Commissioner’s Long 
Beach ofce: Imperial, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, 
San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, or Ventura. 

DLSE – BOFE Public Works
Attn: Complaints Unit
300 Oceangate, Suite 850
Long Beach, CA 90802

  

     

 

 

 
 

HOW TO REPORT A LABOR vIOLATION ON A 
PUBLIC CONSTRUCTION PROjECT 

1 ABOUT BOFE’S PUBLIC WORKS UNIT 

The Public Works Unit of the Labor Commissioner’s Ofce investigates violations of prevailing wage laws on  
public works construction projects. You may fle a public works complaint if you have information that an employer  
committed any of the following violations: 

•	 Unpaid prevailing wages, including unreported hours; prevailing wages are higher hourly 
wages and are required for work on public works projects. 

•	 Unpaid overtime, including overtime prevailing wage rates required for weekends and holidays. 
•	 Unpaid travel reimbursements or benefts, such as medical, 401(k) plans, enhanced 

unemployment or other benefts. 
•	 Misclassifcation of pay grades, which determine the range of salaries on public works projects. 
•	 Paychecks returned due to insufcient funds. 

Public works complaints should be fled as soon as possible in order for the Labor Commissioner to complete  
its investigation and issue assessments within 18 months of the project’s completion. The Labor Commissioner  
cannot take any action on public works complaints afer this time period has passed.  

IF YOU ExPERIENCED ADDITIONAL LABOR vIOLATIONS OR WERE NOT WORKING  

ON A PUBLIC WORKS PROjECT, YOU MAY FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE WAGE  

CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT OR REPORT THE LABOR vIOLATION TO THE BUREAU  

OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE). FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT THE  

LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE.  
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2 HOW TO FILE A PUBLIC WORKS COMPLAINT 

Anyone who wishes to report a violation of the state’s public works laws can fle a public works complaint with 
the Labor Commissioner. Current or former employees must complete and fle the Public Works – Worker 
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DLSE – BOFE Public Works 
Attn: Complaints Unit 
2031 Howe Avenue, Suite 100 
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www.dir.ca.gov/dlse
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public works construction projects. You may fle a public works complaint if you have information that an employer
committed any of the following violations:

•	 Unpaid prevailing wages, including unreported hours; prevailing wages are higher hourly 
wages and are required for work on public works projects.

•	 Unpaid overtime, including overtime prevailing wage rates required for weekends and holidays.
•	 Unpaid travel reimbursements or benefts, such as medical, 401(k) plans, enhanced 

unemployment or other benefts.
•	 Misclassifcation of pay grades, which determine the range of salaries on public works projects.
•	 Paychecks returned due to insufcient funds.

Public works complaints should be fled as soon as possible in order for the Labor Commissioner to complete
its investigation and issue assessments within 18 months of the project’s completion. The Labor Commissioner
cannot take any action on public works complaints afer this time period has passed.

2 HOW TO FILE A PUBLIC WORKS COMPLAINT

Anyone who wishes to report a violation of the state’s public works laws can fle a public works complaint with 
the Labor Commissioner. Current or former employees must complete and fle the Public Works – Worker 
Complaint form (available in English and Spanish), while other members of the public must use the Public Works 
– Public Complaint form. These forms are available at any of the Labor Commissioner’s Ofce locations and 
online at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse. If you fle your report in person at the Labor Commissioner’s Ofce and need an 
interpreter, it is recommended that you bring someone who can interpret for you at the frst visit. Afer you fle a 
complaint, an interpreter will be provided as needed.

You will need to provide information about the public works project, the employer, the awarding body, and 
the general contractor on the complaint form. The awarding body is the government entity that owns the 
project and awarded it to the general contractor. Submit the complaint form with copies of your supporting 
documents. Do not submit originals, as they may not be returned to you. Afer fling your complaint, you will 
receive a Notifcation of Complaint Filed with the name of the investigator assigned to your case. The Labor 
Commissioner will keep your complaint confdential to the maximum extent possible under the law but in 
certain situations, may be required to disclose copies of complaints to employers.

FINAL STEPS OF THE BOFE PUBLIC WORKS
INVESTIGATION PROCESS

If the Public Works Unit fnds a violation, an investigator with the Labor Commissioner will issue a Civil Wage 
and Penalty Assessment (CWPA) which determines the amount of unpaid wages owed to workers, as well as 
penalties the contractor or subcontractor owes. 

A contractor may appeal the assessment within 60 days. If the contractor loses the appeal, the Labor 
Commissioner will fle a judgment and collect the assessment amount. If a contractor or subcontractor 
cannot pay the amount assessed, the Labor Commissioner can obtain the amount owed from the awarding 
body (the agency that awarded the contract for public work).

Update the Public Works Unit of any change in your address or phone number in case the Labor 
Commissioner collects your unpaid wages.

4

IF YOU ExPERIENCED ADDITIONAL LABOR vIOLATIONS OR WERE NOT WORKING

ON A PUBLIC WORKS PROjECT, YOU MAY FILE A WAGE CLAIM WITH THE WAGE

CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT OR REPORT THE LABOR vIOLATION TO THE BUREAU

OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE). FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT THE

LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE.

CALIFORNIA LABOR LAWS PROTECT ALL WORKERS REGARDLESS OF

IMMIGRATION STATUS. THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE WILL NOT ASK

ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS

TO OTHER GOvERNMENT AGENCIES.
Complaints regarding work in all other counties should be
delivered to the Labor Commissioner’s Sacramento ofce:

DLSE – BOFE Public Works
Attn: Complaints Unit
2031 Howe Avenue, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95825

Complaints regarding work in the following counties 
should be submitted to the Labor Commissioner’s Long 
Beach ofce: Imperial, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, 
San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, or Ventura. 

DLSE – BOFE Public Works
Attn: Complaints Unit
300 Oceangate, Suite 850
Long Beach, CA 90802

    

 
 

 
 

 

    

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

 
 

3 WHAT TO ExPECT DURING AN INVESTIGATION 

The Public Works Unit actively monitors public works projects and may initiate investigations at any time. 
Investigators may take the following actions: 

•	 Review (“audit”) payroll and time records to determine whether the employer has paid all 
prevailing wages as required by law. 

•	 Interview workers involved with the project about potential violations. Investigators interview 
workers outside of the worksite and away from the employer’s view whenever possible. If you 
are nervous about speaking to investigators at your worksite, ask them for their business cards 
to call them afer the inspection. Meetings can be arranged during non-work hours at another 
public place such as a restaurant. 

•	 Inspect the worksite(s) for evidence of failure to pay or post notices of prevailing wage rates. 

The Public Works Unit conducts certain inspections with other state agencies. For example, the Division 
of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) may join the investigation if there are suspected health 
and safety violations, and the California Employment Development Department (EDD) may join if there are 
suspected tax and payroll violations. These agencies may also ask for your assistance in answering questions 
or providing documentation. Your participation is completely voluntary. 
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[THE PUBLIC WORKS COMPLAINT PROCESS] 

4 FINAL STEPS OF THE BOFE PUBLIC WORKS 
INVESTIGATION PROCESS 

If the Public Works Unit fnds a violation, an investigator with the Labor Commissioner will issue a Civil Wage 
and Penalty Assessment (CWPA) which determines the amount of unpaid wages owed to workers, as well as 
penalties the contractor or subcontractor owes. 

A contractor may appeal the assessment within 60 days. If the contractor loses the appeal, the Labor 
Commissioner will fle a judgment and collect the assessment amount. If a contractor or subcontractor 
cannot pay the amount assessed, the Labor Commissioner can obtain the amount owed from the awarding 
body (the agency that awarded the contract for public work). 

Update the Public Works Unit of any change in your address or phone number in case the Labor 
Commissioner collects your unpaid wages. 

CALIFORNIA LABOR LAWS PROTECT ALL WORKERS REGARDLESS OF  

IMMIGRATION STATUS. THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE WILL NOT ASK  

ABOUT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS OR REPORT YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS  

TO OTHER GOvERNMENT AGENCIES. 



The Labor 
Commissioner’s 
Office, 

also called the Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE), is part of the California 

Department of Industrial Relations. The Labor 

Commissioner’s Office is the state agency that 

investigates complaints of labor law violations. 

It enforces minimum labor standards to ensure 

employees are not permitted to work under 

substandard, unlawful conditions. It also 

protects employers who comply with the law 

from having to compete with those who do not.

YOU DO NOT NEED A SOCIAL SECURITY 

NUMBER OR PHOTO IDENTIFICATION 

TO FILE A COMPLAINT. 

YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT REGARDLESS 

OF YOUR IMMIGRATION STATUS. 

YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER AND THE 

LABOR COMMISSIONER WILL PROVIDE 

AN INTERPRETER IN YOUR LANGUAGE.

REPORT 
A LABOR 

VIOLATIOn 
On A PUBLIC 

COnSTRUCTIOn 
PROJECT

TO THE CALIFORNIA LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE

THE LABOR COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE 
ENFORCES LABOR LAWS THROUGH THE 
FOLLOWING UNITS:

THE WAGE CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT reviews and 

decides individual claims for unpaid wages and other 

labor law violations.

THE GARMENT WAGE CLAIM ADjUDICATION UNIT 

reviews and decides claims filed by garment workers under the 

Garment Worker Protection Act, a law known as AB 633. 

THE BUREAU OF FIELD ENFORCEMENT (BOFE) 

investigates reports of employers’ failure to provide minimum 

wage, overtime, or meal and rest periods to groups 

of workers. BOFE also investigates complaints against 

employers for violations of workers’ compensation, child 

labor, recordkeeping, licensing, and registration laws.

THE PUBLIC WORKS UNIT investigates violations of labor 

laws on public works construction projects. Prevailing wages 

are higher than the State minimum wage and are required for 

workers on most public construction projects.

THE RETALIATION COMPLAINT INvESTIGATION UNIT 

investigates complaints of retaliation. Retaliation occurs 

when an employer takes actions such as firing a worker, 

reducing hours or pay because the worker took steps to 

enforce his or her labor rights.

THE jUDGMENT ENFORCEMENT UNIT helps workers 

collect their wages after the Labor Commissioner determines 

that an employer owes unpaid wages.
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LABOR 
COMMISSIONER’S 
OFFICE LOCATIONS

SAN jOSE
(408) 277-1266

SANTA ANA 
(714) 558-4910

SANTA BARBARA 
(805) 568-1222

SANTA ROSA 
(707) 576-2362

STOCKTON 
(209) 948-7771

vAN NUYS 
(818) 901-5315

REDDING 
(530) 225-2655

SACRAMENTO 
(916) 263-1811

SALINAS 
(831) 443-3041

SAN BERNARDINO 
(909) 383-4334

SAN DIEGO 
(619) 220-5451

SAN FRANCISCO 
(415) 703-5300

BAKERSFIELD 
(661) 587-3060

EL CENTRO 
(760) 353-0607

FRESNO 
(559) 244-5340

LONG BEACH 
(562) 590-5048

LOS ANGELES 
(213) 620-6330

OAKLAND 
(510) 622-3273

PW (ENGLISH)

VIOLATIONS OF PREVAILING WAGE LAWS ON PUBLIC WORKS PROJECTS IS CALLED WAGE THEFT. 
REPORT EMPLOYERS THAT COMMIT WAGE THEFT TO THE LABOR COMMISSIONER.

PUBLIC WORKS PROjECTS INCLUDE ANY CONSTRUCTION OR 
DEVELOPMENT PAID FOR IN WHOLE OR IN PART BY PUBLIC FUNDS. 
In some instances, maintenance contracts with government agencies can also trigger public works 
laws. Examples of construction projects include roads, parks, and buildings owned by the government. 
Maintenance contracts may include landscaping projects and cleaning or replacement of traffic signal lights.

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS  
ON A PUBLIC WORKS PROJECT:

Prevailing Wage: For work on a project in California paid for by the public, 
you must be paid “prevailing wage,” a special kind of minimum wage that is 
higher than the state minimum wage. 

Fringe Benefits: In addition to prevailing wage rates, you may receive fringe 
benefits such as medical insurance, compensation for job-related injuries and illness, 
a retirement plan, vacation and holiday pay, and safety trainings.  Some contractors 
may have to pay you the benefits in wages instead of providing fringe benefits.

Overtime: If you work more than 8 hours per day on a weekday or work on 
a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday on a public works project, you must be paid a 
higher overtime or premium prevailing wage rate.  Limited exceptions to this 
rule can be found in section 4.1.7 of the public works manual, available online 
at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/PWManualCombined.pdf.

Meal and Rest Breaks: Most workers in California must receive an uninterrupted 
30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked and a paid 10-minute rest 
period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a rest break even if you 
work less than 4 hours.

Deductions from Pay: Except for wages that are withheld as required by law 
(such as social security tax), your employer may not withhold or deduct wages 
from your pay.  For example, employers cannot deduct wages for uniforms and 
tools required for the job.

Reimbursement of Expenses: You must receive reimbursement for expenses, 
including supplies and tools needed for your job and the cost of mileage if you are 
required to use your personal car for work (other than commuting to and from your 
job site). However, if you earn at least twice the minimum wage, your employer 
can require you to provide certain hand tools customarily used in your occupation.

Travel and Subsistence: Your employer may also be responsible to pay for travel 
to a project and “subsistence,” or cost of living.  Email publicworks@dir.ca.gov to 
inquire about whether you should be paid for travel and subsistence on your job.

Reporting Time Pay: If you report to work expecting to work your usual 
schedule, but receive less than half of your usual hours, you must still be paid for at 
least half of your usual hours (for a minimum of at least 2 hours). 

Posting Requirement: The director of the California Department of Industrial 
Relations determines the prevailing wage rates payable for different crafts and 
work classifications in each part of the state. All employers on public works 
projects must post required laws and notices in a prominent place where they 
can be viewed easily.  These notices inform all employees about wage and hour, 
health and safety, and family leave laws.

Record Keeping and Pay Stubs: Employers must keep records for each 
employee of daily hours worked and rate of pay. Whether you are paid by check, 
in cash, or otherwise, your employer must provide a pay stub or wage statement 
that details the total hours worked, wages earned, deductions, and your 
employer’s name and address.  

Shift Differential Time: Additional prevailing wage rates may need to be paid 
if your work start time begins after 11:00 a.m.  You may be entitled to a higher rate 
for swing shift hours, such as beginning your day after 11:00 a.m., or for “graveyard 
hours,” such as working after 4:00 or 5:00 p.m.

FAQs 

1. Who is covered by prevailing wage laws? 
In general, prevailing wages must be paid to all workers employed on a public 

works project worth over $1,000. Some projects under $25,000 may receive 

special permission from the director of the Department of Industrial Relations to 

pay less than prevailing wage.

2. How do I know what the prevailing wage is and how it 
is calculated?  
All contractors must post required prevailing wage laws and notices in a 

prominent place where they can be viewed by all employees. The director 

of the Department of Industrial Relations calculates each prevailing wage 

rate based on the amount paid to a majority of workers engaged in that same 

craft, classification or type of work in a given geographical area. If there is no 

single rate paid to a majority, the rate paid to the greater number of workers 

determines the prevailing wage rate. 

3. Can I file a report if I am classified as an independent 
contractor? 
California’s labor laws do not apply to independent contractors. However, 

you may file a report if you believe that you have been improperly classified 

as an independent contractor. Some employers misclassify employees as 

independent contractors in order to avoid paying legally required wages 

and to avoid paying for costs such as workers’ compensation insurance. The 

Labor Commissioner will consider many factors when determining whether 

workers have been misclassified as independent contractors. 

4. When will I receive my unpaid prevailing wages?  
Investigations and assessments take anywhere from 30 days to several 

months. The Public Works Unit will send you the wages it recovers on your 

behalf. If the contractor refuses to pay, your payment will be delayed while 

the Labor Commissioner tries to collect the amount from the awarding body.

5. What if my boss fires, demotes or punishes me for 
reporting a public works violation?  
California law prohibits employers from retaliating against workers for exercising 

workplace rights. In addition, it is against the law for your employer to report 

or threaten to report your citizenship or immigration status because you have 

exercised your labor rights. If your employer retaliates against you, you can file a 

retaliation complaint with the Labor Commissioner’s Retaliation Investigation Unit.

6. What can I do if the deadline to file a public works 
complaint has passed?  
If 18 months have passed since the project’s completion, the Labor 

Commissioner’s Office cannot investigate the employer or issue an 

assessment. However, you may file a civil lawsuit in superior court if you 

do so within the deadline to file. You must file a civil lawsuit for statutory 

violations of prevailing wage, minimum wage, overtime, illegal deductions 

from pay, or unpaid reimbursements within three years.

To learn more, visit the Labor Commissioner’s website: www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/HowToFilePWComplaint.htm

www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/PWManualCombined.pdf.
www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/HowToFilePWComplaint.htm
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