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Supplemental Notice to Employee 
California Rights and Protections for H-2A Agricultural Workers 

 
H-2A Employers Only: In addition to providing an H-2A worker the above general Notice to Employee, provide this Spanish language supplement 

no later than the day the H-2A worker begins work in California or on the first day that the employee begins work for another (new) H-2A 

employer. If your employee requests the notice in English, you must also provide the notice in English.  You may also provide this supplement 

together with a completed general Notice to Employee to your non-H-2A workers.  

In addition to federal rights and protections, agricultural workers in California, including those admitted to work under 

the federal H-2A agricultural visa program, are entitled to additional rights and protections under California laws. 

If you have questions about these rights or believe your employer is violating the law, contact the California Labor 

Commissioner’s Office (833-526-4636) or any of the organizations listed at the end of this notice. 

Wage Rights 

• Your contract rate, contained in the approved job order must be the highest rate of the following: Adverse 

Effect Wage Rate (AEWR), the prevailing hourly rate or piece rate, the agreed-upon collective bargaining wage, 

or the applicable federal, state, or local minimum wage. In 2024, the AEWR in California (for all occupations 

except herders) is $19.75 per hour.1 
• You have the right to premium pay for all overtime hours worked. In 2024, California overtime law requires:   

o If your employer has more than 25 employees, you must be paid overtime wages (1½ times the regular 
rate of pay) for all hours worked over 8 hours and up to and including 12 hours in any one workday, 
more than 40 hours in any one workweek, or for the first 8 hours on the seventh consecutive day of 
work in a workweek.  You must be paid overtime at double (2 times the regular rate of pay) for all hours 
worked over 12 in any one workday and after 8 hours on the seventh consecutive day of work in a 
workweek. 

o If your employer has 25 or fewer employees, you must be paid overtime wages (1½ times the regular 
rate of pay) for all hours worked over 8.5 hours in any one workday, more than 45 hours in any one 
workweek, or for the first 8 hours on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek. You must be 
paid overtime at double (2 times the regular rate of pay) after 8 hours on the seventh consecutive day of 
work in a workweek.  

• You may be paid an hourly rate or by piece rate compensation.  Piece-rate compensation is when you are paid a 
specific amount for completing a particular task or making a particular item. If you are paid a piece rate, it must 
be properly disclosed in the contract. If you are paid a piece rate, your average hourly piece rate earnings must 
be an amount at least equal to the required hourly wage rate ($19.75/hour for most H-2A workers).   

• If you are a piece rate employee, you must be paid for all hours worked including for all recovery periods (rest or 
cool down time) and other nonproductive time. This includes time under your employer’s control that is not 
directly related to the activity being paid on a piece rate basis. Examples include time spent participating in the 
sexual harassment prevention training or time spent while being transported by your employer to and from the  
housing to the worksite, if you are directly or indirectly required to use employer-provided transportation.  

• You must be paid at least once each week if employed by a farm labor contractor, or at least twice each month if 

your employer is not a farm labor contractor. 

• If your employer is a farm labor contractor, they are required to post their name, license number, and the name 

and working phone number of their field supervisor. 

• You are entitled to a paid 10-minute rest period for each 4 hours worked. 

• You are entitled to a 30-minute duty-free and uninterrupted meal period for each 5-hour period worked. 
• You are eligible for paid sick leave of at least 40 hours or 5 days, whichever is greater, each year. 

 
1 Sheep and goat herders working 24/7 on-call shifts may be paid a special monthly minimum wage as an alternative to 
this minimum wage. See What amount are Sheepherders owed as a result of AB 1066’s Overtime Phase-In? (ca.gov).  

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Sheepherders-owed-as-a-result-of-AB-1066s-Overtime-Phase-In.html
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• You must be provided with an itemized wage statement that states all wages paid during a pay period. If you are 

paid by piece rate, wage statements must also include the number of piece rate units earned daily and any 

applicable piece rates and must state the total hours of compensable rest and recovery periods, including the 

gross wages paid for those periods.  
• Your employer is prohibited from making charges to you or deductions from your wages for: 

o Necessary expenses or losses as a result of performing your duties.  
o Necessary tools, supplies, or equipment, including safety items.  
o Deductions that are not disclosed in your job offer and work contract. 
o Meals not taken.  
o Transportation from the housing site to the worksite.  

 

Sexual Harassment Prevention  

• Your employer must ensure that you are not subjected to sexual harassment in the workplace. Your employer 

must provide you training on identifying, preventing, and reporting sexual harassment in the workplace.   

o If your employer is a farm labor contractor, all employees must be trained at the time of hire and at 

least once every two years. For further assistance regarding these requirements, please visit 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/FLC.htm, email FLC@dir.ca.gov, or call 559-248-1893. 

o If your employer is not a farm labor contractor, they must provide one hour of sexual harassment and 

abusive conduct prevention training to nonsupervisory employees, and two hours of such training to 

supervisors every two years. For more information regarding this training requirement, please contact 

the California Civil Rights Department at 800-884-1684 or email contact.center@calcivilrights.ca.gov.  

 
Retaliation Protections 

• You have the right to contact state or federal agencies, file a complaint, or seek assistance from a labor 
union or legal assistance organization if your employer is violating your rights. For a list of organizations, 
see the last page of this notice. 

• It is illegal for your employer to punish you because you complain about working conditions or organize 
with co-workers collectively. 

• It is also illegal for your employer to threaten you because of your immigration status because you have 
exercised your labor rights.  If you are threatened or have survived a crime, including labor trafficking, 
you should consult with an immigration attorney to see if you qualify for a U visa, T visa, or deferred 
action. 
 

Workplace Safety and Health 
• You have a right to a safe workplace.   

o Your employer must have a written health and safety plan and give you a copy of the plan if you ask for 

it. 

o As part of their health and safety plan, your employer must have procedures for identifying and 

correcting hazards at worksites.    

o Your employer must provide pesticide exposure protections and safety training for employees when 

pesticides have been or will be applied to crops.  Pesticides are chemicals used to control pests. 

o Your employer must provide prompt medical transportation if pesticide illness is reasonably suspected.  

o Your employer must keep a log of all workplace injuries and illnesses that require more than first aid 

treatment and post a summary of the log from February to April. 

• Your employer must train you about workplace safety and health hazards and how to do your work in a safe and 

healthy manner. 

o Your employer must train and provide you with any necessary protective equipment in the correct type 

and size such as gloves, safety shoes, eye protection, and head protection. 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/FLC.htm
mailto:FLC@dir.ca.gov
mailto:contact.center@calcivilrights.ca.gov
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o Beginning July 1, 2024, your employer must prepare and train you on their workplace violence 

prevention plans, including how you can report a violent incident, threat, or other workplace violence 

concern to your employer or law enforcement without fear of reprisal. 

o With limited exceptions, it is illegal for your employer to threaten to punish you for refusing to report to, 

or leaving work if you have a reasonable belief that the workplace or worksite is unsafe. 

o In the event of an emergency condition, it is illegal for your employer to prevent you from accessing 

your mobile device or other communications device for seeking emergency assistance, assessing the 

safety of the situation, or communicating with a person to verify your safety.  

o You must be trained and provided with the necessary lighting, special high-visibility clothing, and other 

equipment to ensure safe working conditions for outdoor agricultural work when it is dark. 

o Weeding, thinning, or hot-capping with short-handled hoes is prohibited when the hoe is used in a 

stooped, kneeling or squatting position. 

o Hand weeding, hand thinning, and hand hot-capping is not permitted except in limited circumstances 

requiring additional special procedures, including increased rest periods, personal protective 

equipment, and training, when performing those activities. 

• Your employer must provide access to toilets, handwashing facilities, and clean drinking water at all worksites. 

• Your employer must provide water, shade and cool-down rests, and other protections when working outdoors.  

o Your employer must provide you with fresh, pure, suitably cool drinking water (at least one quart per 

hour) free of charge as close as practicable to where you are working. 

o When the outdoor temperature exceeds 80⁰ Fahrenheit, you must have access to shade as close as 

practicable to where you are working. Regardless of temperature, your employer must provide and 

encourage you to take a preventative cool-down rest to protect yourself from overheating.  

o When the outdoor temperature exceeds 95⁰ Fahrenheit, your employer must use additional high-heat 

procedures to protect workers, including requiring you to take a minimum 10-minute cool-down rest 

every 2 hours to prevent overheating.  

• Your employer must protect you from wildfire smoke by providing you with training and a respirator when the 

air quality is unhealthy.  

• You have the right to safe transportation. Vehicles designed or used to transport nine or more workers and a 

driver must be equipped with seatbelts and be inspected, certified, and insured. Seatbelts must be used when 

the vehicle is in operation.   

 

Housing Rights 

• As an H-2A worker, your employer must provide housing at no cost to you.  Housing must be safe and sanitary, 

in good repair, supply hot and cold water, and be free of vermin, among other requirements. 

• If you live in employer-provided housing, you also have rights as tenants, including the right to live there without 

unreasonable interference by your employer. For example, your employer cannot enter your housing space 

without prior notice, except in an emergency.   

• You have the right to be free from discrimination and harassment based on protected characteristics such as 

national origin, disability, gender identity, race, or color, among other protected characteristics.   

 

Workers’ Compensation and Health Insurance 

• You have the right to workers' compensation benefits, including disability pay and medical care, for 
work-related injuries or illness. For additional information, visit www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/ or call 1-800-736-
7401.   

• H-2A workers are eligible to apply for Employee-Paid Health Insurance under the Covered California program. 

For further information, visit www.coveredca.com or call 1-800-300-1506. 

 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/
http://www.coveredca.com/
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ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 
Enforcement agencies. For more information about your legal rights or to file a complaint, contact: 

California Labor Commissioner 

833-526-4636 

www.wagetheftisacrime.com 

 

EDD Migrant and Seasonal 

Farmworker Outreach 

monitoradvocate@edd.ca.gov 

1-877-872-5627 

 

 

Cal/OSHA 

833-579-0927 

www.dir.ca.gov/dosh 

 

California Department of Housing 

and Community Development 

EH@hcd.ca.gov 

1-800-952-8356 

 

 

Agricultural Labor Relations Bd. 

800-449-3699 

WhatsApp: +1 (647) 496-0508 

info@alrb.ca.gov 

 

U.S. Department of Labor 

Wage & Hour Division 

1-866-487-9243 

www.dol.gov/agencies/whd

Non-governmental organizations. You may also contact the following organizations for assistance: 
 
Ayudando Latinos a Soñar 
(ALAS) (SF Bay Area) 
650-560-8947 
www.alasdreams.com 
 
Bay Area Legal Aid 
(SF Bay Area) 
800-551-5554 
www.baylegal.org 
 
California Rural Legal 
Assistance (Sacramento, San 
Diego, Orange) 
crla.org 
530-742-5191 
760-966-0511 
 
CRLA Foundation  
(Fresno, Sacramento) 
559-486-6278 
916-446-7904 
crlaf.org 
 
Center for Workers’ Rights 
(Sacramento) 
916-905-5857 
www.rightscenter.org 
 
Central California Legal Services 

(Fresno) 

559-570-1200 

https://centralcallegal.org/ 

 
 
 
 

CAUSE - Central Coast 
Alliance United for a 
Sustainable Economy 
(Central Coast) 
805-658-0810 
causenow.org 
 
Centro Binacional para el 
Desarrollo Indígena 
Oaxaqueño (CBDIO) (Central 
Coast, San Joaquin Valley) 
559-499-1178  
www.facebook.com/CentroBi
nacional 
 
Comite Civico del Valle 
(Imperial County) 
760-351 8761 
www.ccvhealth.org 
 
Community Action Board of 
Santa Cruz (Central Coast) 
831-763-2147 
cabinc.org 
 
Law Foundation of Silicon 
Valley (SF Bay Area) 
408-293-4790 
lawfoundation.org 
 
Lideres Campesinas (San 
Joaquin Valley, Central Coast, 
Imperial, Sacramento) 
805-486-7776 
 
 

 
Mixteco Indígena Community 
Organizing Project (MICOP) 
(Central Coast) 
805-483-1166 
mixteco.org 
 
North Bay Jobs with Justice 
(SF Bay Area) 
707-582-5634 
northbayjobswithjustice.org 
 
TODEC Legal Center 
(Riverside County) 
951-943-1955 
todec.org 
 
United Farmworkers of 
America (San Joaquin Valley, 
Central Coast) 
661-823-6105 
ufw.org 
 
UFW Foundation 
877-881-8281 
ufwfoundation.org 
 
Universidad Popular (San 
Diego) 
760-659-0109 
unipopular.org 
 
Watsonville Law Center 
(Central Coast) 
831-722-2845 
watsonvillelawcenter.org

mailto:monitoradvocate@edd.ca.gov
mailto:EH@hcd.ca.gov
tel:18004493699
tel:16474960508
mailto:info@alrb.ca.gov
https://www.google.com/search?q=ccls+fresno&rlz=1C1GCEU_enUS887US893&oq=CCLS+fresno&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUqCggAEAAY4wIYgAQyCggAEAAY4wIYgAQyDQgBEC4YrwEYxwEYgAQyCAgCEAAYFhgeMg0IAxAAGIYDGIAEGIoF0gEJNDc2MmowajE1qAIAsAIA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
https://centralcallegal.org/
http://www.facebook.com/CentroBinacional
http://www.facebook.com/CentroBinacional
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