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Could I Get Hurt or Sick on the Job?

Every year over 100 teens die from agricultural
work injuries in the United States. Another 2,000
get hurt badly enough that they stay home from
work.

Here are the stories of three teens:

➤ 17-year-old Gloria was picking oranges
when she began to complain of nausea,
dizziness, blurred vision and stomach
cramps. The orchard had been sprayed
with pesticides the day before. No
warning signs had been posted.

➤ 15-year-old Luis caught his hand between
two sections of irrigation pipe. His little
finger was almost completely cut off. His
other fingers were cut and broken.

➤ 17-year-old Martín died after harvesting
melons in the hot sun for 4 hours. He was
taken by ambulance to a hospital after
complaining of a headache, nausea and
difficulty breathing. He died because his
body overheated.

Why do injuries like these occur? Teens are often
injured on the job due to unsafe work conditions.
Also, they may not receive adequate safety
training and supervision.

What Are My Rights on the Job?

All farm workers have legal rights regardless of
their immigration status.

Under California law, your employer must
provide:

❑ Training about health and safety, including
information on pesticides and other chemicals.

❑ Toilets, hand washing facilities, and drinking
water whenever there are 5 or more workers.

❑ Payment for emergency care and transportation
if you get hurt or sick because of your job. You
may also be entitled to lost wages.

❑ At least the minimum wage, $6.25/hour. It
will increase to $6.75 in January 2002. In some
cases, employers can pay 85% of the minimum
wage during your first 160 hours, if you have
no previous similar experience. Call toll-free
(888) 275-9243 for more information.

You also have a right to:

❑ Report health and safety problems.

❑ Work without racial or sexual harassment.

❑ Refuse to work if the job is immediately
dangerous to your life or health.

❑ Join or organize a union.

What Hazards Should I Watch Out For?

Type of Work Examples of Hazards

Hoeing • Heat stress
• Bending (can hurt back)

Hand Harvesting • Pesticides
• Ladders

Using Machines • Tractors
• Sharp blades and conveyer belts

Packing Plant • Slippery floors
• Heavy lifting
• Repeated movements
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How Old Do I Have To Be To Work?

In California, you must be at least 12 years old to
be hired as a farm worker.

NOTE: Youth of any age may work at any time
in any job on a farm owned or operated
by their parents.

Is It OK To Do Any Kind of Farm
Work?

NO! There are laws that protect teens under the
age of 16 from working in certain jobs that
have been identified as a hazardous
occupations or agricultural zones of danger.

In California no worker under 16 may:

❑ Handle or apply pesticides

❑ Drive, ride, or assist in operating a tractor or
forklift

❑ Drive any vehicle for transporting passengers

❑ Use powered equipment such as a chain saw,
hay mower, hay baler, or cotton picker

❑ Work on a ladder over 20 feet

❑ Work inside a silo

Also, no one under 12 may accompany a
family member to work near:

❑ Moving farm equipment

❑ Pesticides or other chemicals

❑ Water hazards such as an irrigation canal

Are There Other Things I Can’t Do?

YES! There are many other restrictions
regarding the type of work you can and
cannot do. See What If I Need Help? on
the next page.

Do I Need a Work Permit?

YES! Under California law, if you are under
18 and plan to work, you must get a work
permit from your school (unless you have
graduated).

What Are My Safety Responsibilities
on the Job?

To work safely you should:

❑ Follow all safety rules and instructions

❑ Use safety equipment and protective
clothing when needed

❑ Wear clean clothing daily

❑ Never eat or drink in the fields

❑ Never drink irrigation water

❑ Know what to do in case of an emergency

❑ Report any health and safety hazard to
your supervisor



Should I Be Working This Late or
This Long?

Child labor laws protect teens under the age of
18 from working too long, too late, or too early.
This table shows the hours teens may work in
agriculture. (There are exceptions for students
enrolled in an approved vocational training or
apprenticeship program.)

Work Hours for Teens

Ages 12—15 Ages 16—17

Work
Hours

• Not before 7 am or
after 7 pm during
the school year

• Not during school
hours

• 7 am–9 pm during
the summer

• Not before 5 am or
after 10 pm on
school nights

• Not before 5 am or
after 12:30 am when
there is no school the
next day

 Maximum
 Hours
 When
 School
 Is in
 Session

18 hours a week, but
not over:

• 3 hours a day on
school days

• 8 hours a day
Saturday–Sunday
and holidays

48 hours a week,
but not over:

• 4 hours a day
Monday–Thursday

• 8 hours a day
Friday–Sunday
and holidays

• 10 hours a day in
agricultural packing
plants during peak
harvest season
Saturday–Sunday
and holidays

   
   
   
   
   
   

   Maximum
Hours
When
School
Is not
in Session

• 40 hours a week

• 8 hours a day

• 48 hours a week

• 8 hours a day

• 10 hours a day in
agricultural packing
plants during peak
harvest season

 What If I Need Help?

❑ Talk to your boss about the problem.

❑ Talk to your parents or teachers.

❑ Talk to the work experience coordinator or
a counselor at your school.

❑ Call the Farmworkers Guide for information
in English and Spanish on employment,
healthcare, housing, and other issues.

☎ (800) 232-4842

❑ Call U.C. Berkeley's Labor Occupational
Health Program (LOHP) for health and
safety information and advice.

☎ (510) 642-5507

www.youngworkers.org
www.lohp.org

❑ Contact one of these California government
agencies (your local number can be found in
the State Government pages of the phone
book).

➤ Cal/OSHA (under Industrial Relations
Dept.)—to get information or to make a
complaint about health and safety.

☎ (800) 963-9424

www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH

➤ Labor Standards Enforcement (under
Industrial Relations Dept.)—to get
information or to make a complaint
about wages or work hours.

☎ (415) 557-7878

www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE

➤ Fair Employment and Housing—to get
information or to make a complaint about
sexual harassment or discrimination.

☎ (800) 884-1684

www.dfeh.ca.gov

—You have a right to speak up!—

It is illegal for your employer to fire or punish you for reporting a workplace problem.

Labor Occupational Health Program, UC Berkeley, 2001

http://www.youngworkers.org
http://www.lohp.org
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE
http://www.dfeh.ca.gov

	Are You aTeen Working inAgriculture?
	Protect Your HealthKnow Your Rights
	Could I Get Hurt or Sick on the Job?
	What Are My Rights on the Job?
	What Hazards Should I Watch Out For?
	How Old Do I Have To Be To Work?
	Is It OK To Do Any Kind of FarmWork?
	Are There Other Things I Can’t Do?
	Do I Need a Work Permit?
	What Are My Safety Responsibilitieson the Job?
	Should I Be Working This Late orThis Long?
	Work Hours for Teens
	 What If I Need Help?



