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News Release No.: 2018-82	 Date: October 3, 2018 

22 Southern California Restaurant Workers Owed $1 Million for Wage 
Theft 

Los Angeles—The Labor Commissioner’s Office has cited three restaurants in 
Southern California $1,065,646 for wage theft violations owed to 22 workers. Most of 
the workers were paid less than $5 an hour and regularly worked more than 10 hours a 
day with no meal or rest breaks. 

“These conditions—long hours with no breaks and subminimum wages—are classic 
examples of wage theft, and employers who make their profit by breaking the law will be 
held accountable,” said Labor Commissioner Julie A Su. 

•	 Sanamluang Cafe in North Hollywood was cited $833,707, with $708,457
payable to nine workers and $125,250 in civil penalties. Money due to the
workers includes minimum and overtime wages, liquidated damages, waiting
time penalties and meal and rest period premiums.

•	 Orchid Thai Cuisine in Arcadia was cited $407,883, with $307,133 payable to 11
workers and $100,750 in civil penalties. Money due to the workers includes
minimum and overtime wages, split shift premiums, liquidated damages, waiting
time penalties and meal and rest period premiums.

•	 Orchid Thai in Baldwin Park was cited $85,856, with $50,056 payable to two
workers and $35,800 in civil penalties. Money due to workers includes minimum
and overtime wages, split shift premiums, liquidated damages, waiting time
penalties and rest period premiums.

The Labor Commissioner’s Office launched the investigation at Sanamluang Cafe in 
August 2017. Workers were represented by the Thai Community Development Center 
and Bet Tzedek Legal Services. Investigators determined that owners Surapong and 
Viriya Chinotaikul paid their workers a flat rate of $50 for a 10 to 11.5 hour shift each 
day with no meal or rest breaks. Even after investigators met with the owners to 
address the violations, the employer failed to comply with labor laws. As a result, 
additional penalties were assessed to recover the underpayments through April 2018. 
Snamluang Thaifood, Inc. DBA Sanamluang Cafe and its owners Viriya Chinotaikul and 
Surapong Chinotaikul are jointly and severally liable for the citations levied. 

http://www.dir.ca.gov
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The Labor Commissioner’s Office launched an investigation last July into Orchid Thai 
and Orchid Thai Cuisine after receiving complaints from workers who had reported 
underpayment of wages to civil rights group Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Los 
Angeles.  Investigators discovered  that both restaurants  paid their  workers a flat rate of  
$45 to $50  a day  for  shifts of up to  10 hours,  ordered workers to prepare for the day and  
clean up afterwards off the clock and did not  pay  them  split shift premiums  as required  
by law.   

Orchid Thai Cuisine and Orchid Thai restaurant are both owned by Chakri, Revedee, 
Chavin, Charlene and Chanica Veranunt, who formed separate corporations for each of 
the restaurants, CTV Food, Inc. for Orchid Thai Cuisine, and C.LO Foods, Inc. for 
Orchid Thai. The corporations and each individual owner are jointly and severally liable 
for the citations at the respective restaurants. 

“Organizations like the Thai Community Development Center, Bet Tzedek Legal 
Services, and Asian Americans Advancing Justice - Los Angeles play an important role 
in enforcement by helping workers come forward and tell their story,” added Labor 
Commissioner Su.  “We are grateful for their bringing these cases to our attention.” 

Enforcement investigations typically include a payroll audit of the previous three years 
to determine minimum wage, overtime and other labor law violations, and calculate 
payments owed and penalties due. Civil penalties collected are transferred to the 
State’s General Fund as required by law. 

When workers are paid less than minimum wage, they are entitled to liquidated 
damages that equal the amount of underpaid wages plus interest. Waiting time 
penalties are imposed when the employer intentionally fails to pay all wages due to the 
employee at the time of separation. This penalty is calculated by taking the employee’s 
daily rate of pay and multiplying it by the number of days the employee was not paid, up 
to a maximum of 30 days. 

Most workers in California must receive a paid 10-minute rest period for every four 
hours worked. If workers do not receive rest breaks as required by  Industrial  Welfare 
Commission orders  for their occupation, the employer must pay one hour of pay at the 
worker’s regular pay rate for  each workday that the break is not  provided, and  civil 
penalties  of $50 per worker per pay period  for the initial violation, which increases to 
$100 each for subsequent violations.  

The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, or the Labor Commissioner’s Office, is 
the division within the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) with wide-ranging 
enforcement responsibilities including adjudicating wage claims, inspecting workplaces 
for wage and hour violations, investigating retaliation complaints and educating the 
public on labor laws. 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Split_Shift.htm
https://www.dir.ca.gov/IWC/WageOrderIndustries.htm
https://www.dir.ca.gov/IWC/WageOrderIndustries.htm
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=558.&lawCode=LAB
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=558.&lawCode=LAB
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In 2014, Labor Commissioner Su launched the Wage Theft is a Crime  multilingual 
public awareness campaign.  The campaign defines wage theft and informs workers of  
their rights and the resources available to them to recover unpaid wages or report other 
labor law violations. 

Employees with work-related questions or complaints may contact DIR’s Call Center in 
English or Spanish at 844-LABOR-DIR (844-522-6734). 

Members of the press  may contact  Erika Monterroza  or Paola Laverde  at (510) 286­
1161, and are encouraged to subscribe to get email alerts  on DIR’s  press releases or  
other departmental  updates.  

# # # 

The California Department of Industrial Relations,  established in 1927, protects and improves the health, safety, and 
economic well-being of over  18 million wage earners, and helps their employers comply with state labor  laws. DIR is  
housed within the Labor &  Workforce Development Agency. For general  inquiries,  contact DIR’s  Call Center at  844­
LABOR-DIR (844-522-6734) for help in locating the appropriate division or program  in our department.  

http://wagetheftisacrime.com/
https://www.dir.ca.gov/email/listsub.asp?choice=1
http://www.dir.ca.gov/
http://www.labor.ca.gov/
http://www.dir.ca.gov/Contactus.html
https://www.facebook.com/CaliforniaDIR
https://twitter.com/CA_DIR
http://www.youtube.com/CaliforniaDIR
http://www.dir.ca.gov/email/listsub.asp?choice=1
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